Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

“Vintage Rainbow” fabrics

9 Comments

Hi dear friends! I hope you enjoy your weekend! If you can leave your sewing for a moment, come to join the fun contest with Rachel from ‘Stitched in Color‘! It’s about colours … what else?! Rachel’s post is very inspiring with adorable photos. If I happen to win, I shall make something from the ideas those photos gave me!

from Fabric Worm 1

This time we are challenged to create fabric mosaic with ‘Vintage Rainbow colours’. No need to add all the colours from the rainbow but knowing me, you can guess that it was really difficult to choose what colours not to add.

Sponsor for this contest is ‘Fabric Worm’! They have fantastic collections! Look through the fabrics and try to pick only 9  fabrics in vintage rainbow colours and make two mosaics. I take this always too seriously and can’t just pick my favourite fabrics … I want to create beautiful mosaic and it takes a lot of time. Yesterday evening went with picking and removing fabric circles and then arranging and re-arranging the mosaics.

Fortunately we can enter 2 mosaics, other wise this would be too difficult. I start always picking lots of fabrics and colours and then start to remove. Always I end up with about 12 -15 fabrics and there comes the problem. I don’t want to leave any of them out. And this is serious business because you can win the fabrics you have chosen!

from Fabric Worm 2

I made first this light coloured mosaic…with some of my favourites and then adding few matching, beautiful solids. But then I was thinking: is this what I want mostly? … I want more COLOURS! Those vintage colours that I saw in Rachels post. Does it look too easy to pick just solids… hmmm, I hope you believe me that it wasn’t easy at all.

Now I’m really happy with both of these mosaics.  If I win, I have already plans what to make! You can enter your mosaics until January 19th HERE. Please vote from 20th of January  HERE! Read Rachel’s post for inspiration and details. You can make the photo mosaic with ‘Big Huge Labs’.

raw edge applique butterfly

I have received questions about the raw edge applique and how it looks after washing. This butterfly has been washed many times. It is on the wall quilt. If you like to make something like my ‘Fabric Forest’ or something else with raw edge method, you could make first one test block. Quilt it a little bit with wadding and wash with your other laundry. You could also make first for example pillow, to see if you like this method. I like the shabby look the washing creates.

apple green

Now I leave you because I just got an idea…show it to you after few laundry days.

I hope you have a wonderful weekend! Try to relax and do things that make you happy! Thank you for stopping by and thank you for the awesome sweet wishes on my Birthday!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

9 thoughts on ““Vintage Rainbow” fabrics

  1. Once again, those colors are so dreamy and the butterfly is lovely!!!! I really do like the raw edge process—so soft in the final appearance. I do hope your special day was exactly that!!!! Hugs…….

    Like

  2. The rainbow mosaic with the solid colors is a favorite of mine. Great collection!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Rachel! I’m so happy I did this because first I thought it would be too easy choice for the contest. In fact it was not easier than with prints. It looks so happy that I wanted to add it to my header! Thank you for the inspiration! x Teje

      Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

