Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

My sewing room and stash

77 Comments

Hi dear friends and welcome to my sewing room!
sewing room

I know you like to zoom first to see what there is on my table …

sewing room

Yes, happy colours: Kona solids and Kaffe Fassett designer strips in warm colours. New project that I’m very excited! But please step in and I’ll show you what I have in my sewing room.

sewing room

This photo is few days ago, before I started the new project. Here you can see well all the room. On the left is the door and on the right is door to the balcony. Behind me is the design wall and the ladder for quilts. Some quilts are on the drawer as well as the pile of new ikea fabrics. Ironing board is front of the wardrope and I hope one day I find arrangement to change that.

Lets start from the small things and leave the fabrics last. In the white drawers I have sewing threads, all kind of sewing supplies and some small materials like buttons, ribbons, zippers etc.

sewing supplies

In the wardrope I have fabrics, except quilting cottons. There are canvas fabrics, ikea fabrics, other home decor fabrics, boxes with mixed fabrics (older cottons and some re-cycled), waddings etc.

IMG_4359

I’m  happy to have lots of light in my sewing room. There is this narrow window and door to the balcony.

On the table, next to my sewing machine I have the things I need often. That wooden double tray is my favourite. There I have bobbins, labels, pins for basting, scissors, hera-ruler and fabric markers. On the table there is also mat for cutters and scissors, rulers I use all the time, pincushion and an old emal bowl which is my thread catcher.

IMG_4362

My sewing machine is a basic Singer. I used to belittle (even despise) it. I miss my super electronic Husqvarna, which stopped to work many years ago in age of 20. Then I didn’t sew much and got this one. Now I have changed my opionion about it. It has worked very well many years and never complained all the kilometres it was made to stitch. I would love to have fantastic sewing machine with the special thing for quilting, but I can assure you that with the basic sewing machine (even without any machine) beautiful quilts can be created.

singer

My sewing table is from our taverna, drawer (filled with my painting suff) and a board placed on them. When I sew and work behind my table, this is my view…

IMG_4357

I like to have open space front of me and good light. The general light in this room is excatly over my table. Light is correct and makes photo shooting easy. The office lamp helps a lot but that I switch off when I take photos because it has warm light and that makes photos look dark and colours wrong.

And now come to see my fabrics!

fabric stash

Before the Christmas I arranged all my quilting fabrics and scraps. You know how they love to get all messed up. I shared them a little bit better and just now I opened the boxes so you can see the colours. Usually there starts to be piles and project trays on the boxes and it’s not nice to move them around when trying to find something.

First, on the right are boxes for scraps: warm, cold, low volume and the littlest. On the floor are (just now to show them) solids, shirt fabrics (I buy these also as fabric and not only use re-cycled shirts), basket with white. On the down self there are my Go!baby cutter machine and container with knitting/crochet projects, ‘different’ fabrics (Marimekko, batiks, linens).

Second self from down has scraps, some I have cut scraps, low volume, some new pieces that didn’t fit with their colour, dark colours (brown, grey etc.) and then un-washed fabrics. I pre-wash my fabrics.

Then the ‘main’ self starts with scraps and strips and then there are the colour boxes. Last box on the left has some specials which I save a little bit. Office/paper selves far left are for blocks and projects.

IMG_4365

On the upper self are the threads for hand quilting, bindings, selvages (big blue box), hexagons (smaller blue box) and my {3.5″} project box (I collect 3.5″ squares from all my fabrics).

Now I wish we could sit down and continue chatting about our fabrics and quilts, perhaps do some hand sewing with cup of coffee and apple pie. When that’s not possible, we can be happy that internet gives us the opportunity to visit friends all around the world, to see and show our sewing spaces and to share our quilts!

IMG_4387

Almost forgot to say that most of my solids are now on the table and ironing board. Many quilters are ‘sewing from stash’ this year. Me too, as always. I buy fabrics when I can and when I see something I like. Then I start to think and make plans for a new project and choose fabrics from my stash. Only sometimes I go to buy something I need, like yesterday white. Oh that bright, crispy white! … with bright colours! … but this is already other story and has to wait for the next post.

I shall join my favourite linky parties! Sunday Stash, Oh ScrapFabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday

You can guess how I spend this Sunday evening! I hope you have a lovely day and something very enjoyable to do!

Thank you for visiting my sewing room; I hope you liked the tour! Thank you also for your sweet, friendly and supportive comments!

TEJE

 

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

77 thoughts on “My sewing room and stash

  1. Oh, Teje, thank you for inviting us into your sewing studio. What fun it would be to be there in person, but the www is the next best thing, it is a lovely room with wonderful light and even a balcony so that the fur kids can keep watch for invaders. the sewing machine just has to function properly because what really counts is the artist at the wheel and you are truly an artist. I see Larura Burch kitties peeking out 😌 S

    Like

    • Thank you Sonja for your sweet words! I’m so happy you visited! Those kitties are waiting to be something special. Nelli spends lot of time on the balcony and puppies also sometimes. By the way, Villa Mathea was our home. Hugs! x teje

      Like

  2. Your sewing studio looks so, so inviting. It’s busy, bright and full of excitement, but so organised! Just lovely! Ros x

    Like

    • Thank you Ros for visiting! I’m happy you like my sewing room. It is lightful and if not as now, still usually quite organized. That’s only way to make small space work well. x Teje

      Like

  3. Ihana päästä kurkistamaan työhuoneeseesi! Ja mikä siisteys ja järjestys! Yritin tutkailla, mitä sinulla on pöydllä työn alla, ehkä esittelet joskus. Jotain ihanaa on kuitenkin tulossa. Mukavaa viikkoa sinulle!

    Like

    • Kiitos vierailusta Leena! Poydalla on uusi tyo mutta siita enemman ensi kerralla ettei tullut ihan liikaa asiaa talle paivalle. Nurkalle on nyt kertynyt kangas ehdokkaitakin. x Teje

      Like

  4. Oh I so enjoyed my visit to your little creative spot in the world!! Thanks for sharing…I especially love all your natural light! Fantastic!! (ps: i UPDATED MY LINK TO YOUR NEW BLOG ADDRESS) v:)

    Like

  5. Oh my, so crushing on that much shelving space! And a table, stop it. I have a closet with bins piled high and use the end of my dining room table, much to my husbands dismay. Thanks for sharing a peek into your space.

    Like

  6. Thank you so very much for sharing your space with us, I am hopping hubby and my son get mine done before I go to the Lord,, I love the quilt your working on now and how well organized, as soon as my room is done I have to get hopping and get all my boys and there wives a quilt made and of course grandma and my grandchildren, I am in hospice care now, so I do wish they would hurry. GOD bless you always in his beautiful name.

    Like

  7. Thank you for the tour Teje! I enjoyed peeking around your beautiful sewing room!

    Like

  8. I did enjoy the tour but missed the pie and coffee somewhere!!! Hehe………… You are so correct!!! It is the artist operating the machine, and not the machine, who creates glorious “finishes”!!!!!!!. Hugs………

    Like

  9. Teje, what a fun post! I really enjoyed reading it and seeing your sewing space. Your new project looks beautiful! I love those bright, crisp whites, too!

    Like

  10. Beautiful sewing space! So full of light and color. Thanks for sharing this with Oh Scrap! I want to step through my computer screen and steal some of your scraps. 🙂

    Like

  11. So organized you are! I love your bright and cheerful room. I spotted some Laurel Burch cat fabric too!! (LOVE, own some) What does Nero think?!

    Like

  12. What fun! I always love to see where someone else works. My space is small, and crowded and I don’t know what to do with it, so I keep creating out of it anyway!

    Like

  13. Thank you Teje for making us this beautifull tour! You sewing room is so lovely, lightful and inviting, I really would like to come to have a cup of coffee with lemon pie!(I love lemon pie!!!)Those fabrics in the corner on your table are really beautiful, are they Kaffes fabrics? I wish you to have creative week ( and I am sure you will have) in your lovely space! x Anneli

    Like

  14. What a lovely happy bright space!

    Like

  15. Wonderful sewing room, Teje, thanks for sharing it. Gives me inspiration to re-organise my sewing room. Love all the bright happy fabrics.

    Like

  16. Thanks for the tour round your lovely sewing room – the project on your design wall and table is gorgeous!

    Like

  17. You’ve created a beautiful sewing “nest”, Teje! I love how bright and organized your space is and I think your view when you’re at your machine is inspiring. Thanks so much for the happy tour, full of inspiration and delight.

    Like

    • Thank you Katherine! I’m good in organizing and in a small space with lots of things it helps to have everything in their place. But soon there will be again piles and files and so on around. x Teje

      Like

  18. Lovely tour….thanks for sharing!

    Like

  19. Look at all that space and light, Teje! I have a balcony and window by my sewing machine, but half the space to work in.
    I love the bright colours you have chosen for your winding ways quilt.

    Like

  20. Voi mikä ihana järjestys! Kaunis ja valoisa työhuone, tuolla kyllä viihtyy. Kiitos siivousinspiraatiosta 🙂

    Like

    • Kiitos Saija! Onneksi sain jarjestettya (hyva etta olin luvannut esitella blogissa niin oli pakko tehda!). Nyt on kiva ommella ilman siivous paineita. x Teje

      Like

  21. Hello Teje,

    I saw these workroom images via my phone earlier and was blown away by airiness and brigtness&lightness – wonderful! So inspiring! I just love the crisp white backgroung with splashes of color… wow! And you have it all so organized too. I so so would love to visit, we would have so much fun working (read: admiring fabrics, giggling, having some kahvi&pulla) there!

    Happy last week of January, happy creating!

    Yours,
    Mia

    Like

    • Thank you so much Mia! I can imagine how fun it would be to meat and do all that and of coure with kahvi&pulla! Perhaps one day… Have a lovely, creative end of January! x Teje

      Like

  22. Sinun työhuoneesi on yhtä raikas ja valoisa kuin kaikki työsi! Kaikki tilpehöörit on kauniisti rasioissa ja kankaat sievästi väreittäin. Apua! Nyt tuli jotenkin tunne, että täytyyisi omaa ompeluhuonetta siivota ja järjestää uudelleen. Maalata puunvärinen työpöytä valkoiseksi. Jotain uutta ja ihanaa näyttäisi olevan tulossa tuolla desing wallilla ja päydälllä. Aurinkoista viikkoa!

    Like

    • Kiitos Marle! Eiko olekin kiva kun joku muu on siivonnut ja jarjestanyt niin saa itsekin innostusta! Jos maalaat poytasi niin ehka minakin saan intoa maalata ja kunnostaa ompelutuolin. Hauskoja ompelu hetkia! x Teje

      Like

  23. Thank you for the tour! I LOVE seeing other people’s sewing rooms!

    Like

  24. What a fabulous studio! You have a perfect room, perfectly organized! I am in love with your project on the table. That is going to be stunning!

    Like

  25. What a lovely space – so bright, and cheery!

    Like

  26. I really love to see a sewing studio like this. So inspiring, thank you.

    Like

  27. What an enjoyable tour of your sewing room! It’s so warm and inviting Teje that I can see why you wouldn’t want to leave it. Having a bright creative place to quilt must be such a joy!

    Like

  28. What a lovely visit to your sewing room, Teje! Your fabrics and quilts are so pretty! And it would be so amazing to stay for a piece of apple pie and have a coffee with you….

    Like

  29. Thanks for sharing your beautiful little room. it looks a bit like mine but brighter and more cheery.

    Like

  30. I loved the tour. Your room is so bright and cheery that it must be a real pleasure to be there. I also loved seeing all the projects in progress that are on display. Thank you for having me. Have a great day!

    Like

  31. Thanks for sharing some views of your work space. I always love seeing where people create.

    Like

  32. Thanks so much Teje for sharing your beautiful quilt studio!! It is so light and bright and colorful…..just what I love too! I do all my sewing and quilting on a vintage Singer that I bought for under $30 and it is wonderful. You create beautiful things with your basic sewing machine!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Connie! You have it right about the sewing macine. I miss some things that would make sewing much easier but this works well. Enjoy your fantastic new sewing studio! x Teje

      Like

  33. I love your space. It is so light and bright. Very energizing and inspirational.

    Like

  34. You have a lot going on and you look so organized! I love it! 🙂

    Like

  35. Thanks for sharing Teje! It’s beautiful and bright and just so darn cheery! Your lighting IS awesome and your pics are gorgeous!

    Like

  36. It’s looking so organised but busy at the same time. What a wonderful place to sew 🙂

    Like

  37. Pingback: Sew Cute Tuesday | Blossom Heart Quilts

  38. Thank you for sharing the space you create in. I am inspired! Pinned.

    Like

  39. Your sewing space is lovely, full of all the things to put a smile on your face (including your pets.)
    I was wondering how big the throat space or harp space of your Singer sewing machine.
    Thanks for letting us visit.

    Like

    • Thank you Barbara! That throat space is 6″ til the needle and 9″ at the left end of the ‘table’. I quilt almost everything by hand except some small projects, bags etc. x Teje

      Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

