Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Winding ways – quilt project

52 Comments

Hello friends! You have seen few sneaky peakys from my latest quilt project and now I tell you more about it. Curves has been winding on me sewing table …

IMG_4314

This year I had decided to challenge myself more with curves. When I saw Rachel’s Jump Rope quilt, I knew this is the One! Just what I needed to feel again inspired! When I want to make and learn something new, it’s better to choose a project I really like. Then I don’t mind how difficult it is, because I just want to make it. And better to use also my favourite fabrics. I took a deep breath and picked my Kaffe Fassett’s Collective Design Strips.

winding ways quilt block

As I don’t have curve ruler, I looked for templates in Pinterest. I don’t give you link because I’m not sure about them yet. I made test block and it worked well so I continued and made fabric templates. With them I can cut easily 2-4 pieces at one go.

IMG_4317

I made few more test blocks to see what other fabrics to use. I was hoping that in this project finally I could use something else than white for the back ground…but no, I didn’t like it, totally too busy and blaah.

winding ways

With this pattern I couldn’t just start to sew blocks and then play with them. I had to see how the colours work and how I should mix them. This pattern is great! You can play a lot with colours to change the look.  I really like Rachel’s quilt but I thought for the first time with this pattern, it’s easier to begin with these matching fabrics than trying to pick fabrics from my stash. I’m sure I shall make later this pattern with other fabrics.

winding ways

So I had decided that I shall use white, fresh crispy white! And then what? Those Kaffe’s fabrics have so strong, dominating colours/prints that I felt only solids can compete with them.

solids

This is going to be ‘fireworks’ but you know I love COLOURS!

winding ways

Blocks with white centre were easy to sew. My white is quite firm cotton and also Kona solids are very good quality.

winding ways

But oh, those cursed curves….Kaffe’s fabrics are super beautiful but I’m not happy with the quality. They are very very thin and too strecthy. Not the best choise for curves and I’m thinking if we work a lot to make one quilt and it doesn’t last long, it’s sad. Before realizing what causes the problem, I had cut lots of pieces, so I have to continue. Still I change my plan a little bit. This is not going to be big quilt as I thought. Some of the pieces I have already cut are going to be triangles and used for an other quilt inspired by Kaffe’s diamond quilt.

winding ways

Few blocks I had to rip and sew again because in worst case it looked like this… and I have pressed a lot!

IMG_4428

Fortunately it looks really fun! These blocks create so many patterns; I love especially the circles! Now I need to have patient to sew few more coloured blocks to finish this top, because soon I need to empty my design wall to start a new baby quilt.

winding ways by teje

I bought my Kaffe Fassett fabrics few years ago from ‘Fat Quarter Shop’ and at the moment they don’t have the exact same colour bundle, but you can find other beautiful colours for example ‘light’ HERE. These bundles have 20 pieces of 6″ x 44″ strips.

My Kona solids (by Robert Kaufman) are mostly purchased from ‘Fluffy Sheep Quilting’.

Rachel’s posts about the quilt that inspired me, are here, here and here. Notice that Rachel has used 4 pieces to make her block and I used only 3. I worried about having so many seam allowances in the centre but perhaps it would have been easier to use Rachel’s way to make the curved pieces match well.

Thank you for reading about my quilting experiences. If you haven’t tried curves, I hope this inspires you to start. They are not so scary as we think and they give us lots of new possibilities to create quilt designs.

Thank you for your sweet, lovely comments about my sewing room!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

52 thoughts on “Winding ways – quilt project

  1. Hi Teje, what a great post! You’re trying curves and they look great! Rachel’s posts are so inspirational, I understand why you jumped right in! I’m not going to try them any time soon as I still have loads of unfinished ones, maybe in the future. I also understand the frustration with the stretching fabrics, they don’t help when cut and sewn on the bias. But your combination looks amazing, cannot wait to see the finished quilt! ♡

    Like

  2. It looks so fabulous! What a gorgeous pattern. I enjoyed reading about your curved experiences and the type of fabric clearly makes a difference. I wonder if starching the Kaffe prints would help?

    Like

    • Thank you Lucy! I’m happy you stopped by! I think starching could help, have to try.

      Like

    • Thank you Lucy! I’m happy you stopped by! I think starching could help, thank you for the tip. With any other blocks there wouldn’t be problem but curves are tricky. Perhpas it’s also the difference of the fabrics. x Teje

      Like

  3. The colors are fantastic; your quilt looks fabulous!! It’s a fun design; I can stare at it for a while looking for the circles. Kaffe’s fabrics are indeed thinner and have a lovely soft silky touch to it, I like to work with them, they make beautiful quilts that drape beautifully. I too got bitten by Rachel’s quilt and after seeing her post, I ordered the templates …

    Like

    • Thank you Maryse! I’m happy you get the templates! I’m already thinking other projects for Kaffe’s fabrics where the softness will be perfect! x Teje

      Like

  4. I’m loving the colours you’ve selected, Teje! Oh, and this design is so interesting with secondary patterns – lots of fun to look at. I know it would be more work, but if starching doesn’t help, I wondered if you could stabilize those thinner fabrics with paper (perhaps freezer paper can be pressed to the fabric before you stitch the pieces into blocks – then torn away afterwards?). Hope you find a way to make those Kaffe fabrics work as they really look beautiful in this design. Good luck, Teje!

    Like

  5. Huomenta Teje! Kauniita blokkeja. Nuo Fassetin kankaat ja valkoinen on huikaiseva yhdistelmä. Niissä on raikkautta ja kauneutta samassa paketissa. Olet onnistunut kaarevissa saumoissa hienosti. Olen joskus tehnyt tuolla blokilla pienen liinan eteisen pöydälle, mutta muuten vältellyt onnistuneesti kaikkea kaarevaa. Inspiroivaa alkanutta viikkoa!

    Like

  6. Hei Teje! Minäkin olen Marlen tavoin vältellyt kaarevia saumoja, mutta sitten näin Saija-Elinan blogissa (http://saijaelina.blogspot.fi/) ihanan peiton, joka oli tehty kaarevilla saumoilla, ja sitten tämä sinun! Käytin eilisen illan etsien tuota Jump Rope- mallia (minä en omin käsin noita palasia saisi aikaan) ja löysinkin sen Etsystä. Joudun ehkä perumaan puheeni, ettei ikinä kaarevia saumoja. Peittosi on niin ihana, tykkään kuvion “kaksinkertaisuudesta”, ensin lehtimäinen kuvio ja sitten ympyrä, tai miten päin vain. Täällä on aivan ihana auringonpaiste, ja minulla ylityövapaa. Mukavaa helmikuuta!

    Like

    • Hei Leena! Hyva jos loysit mallin ja saat tarkat ‘kaavat’ kappaleisiin. Viivain ja leikkuri auttavat myos tarkempaan leikkaukseen. Se onkin tassa mallissa ihana ja hauska etta sielta loytyy monia kuvioita. Ihana etta teillakin on auringonpaistetta ja leuto talvi. Hyvaa Helmikuuta! x Teje

      Like

  7. Oh, you are a brave woman, curves! Your colors are wonderful

    Like

  8. I love the circles that appear with this design, keep going!

    Like

  9. It’s an interesting block, I’ve always thought. Are you stitching on the machine or by hand? I see you are cutting by hand and doing without the ruler. Well, so did our grandmothers!

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m sewing by machine and cutting by hand. Now when thinking, perhaps hand stitching would be good idea with the curves. But so big pieces … I prefer the sewing machine. I try to keep in mind that grannies made everything without any special tools and supplies! x Teje

      Like

  10. You have put together so lovely colors! I love the circle effect what comes out from your design. Waiting for to see more! Lovely and sunny day for your! x Anneli

    Like

  11. Hi Teje, I love all KF fabrics, they are so colorful and vibrant. Good luck with the curves, sometimes they can get tricky. Looking forward tom see more! xBarbora

    Like

  12. I enjoy sewing curves, and I think the fabric quality of the Rowan fabrics is generally good. They have a lovely softness and drape to them – not stiff and like cardboard. Keep going. It will all turn out beautifully.
    You are right. When you want to make and learn something new, it is better to choose a project and fabrics you love. You will be inspired to keep going.

    Like

  13. Love your quilt! So bright and happy! This quilt is on my to-make list of 2016! I have the quick curve ruler, pattern, and plan on using Fossil Fern fabrics as a starting point.

    Like

  14. Wow, this is beautiful! It’s going to be an amazing quilt. Good for you for tackling those curves (and templates!).

    Like

  15. Oh, Teje. I have had similar problems with fabric like those. Having to make a t-shirt quilt gave me a solution. I now iron fusible light interfacing to the back of the fabric and then cut out the pieces. I admire your curves.

    Like

  16. This is fabulous! And good for you for sticking with it. Curves do get less scary the more you do them. Yet I still kinda dread them.

    Like

  17. This is looking gorgeous!! I love it so much.

    Like

  18. I loved reading about your project, you have chosen some beautiful colours for it! I haven’t been brave enough to try curves yet, but you have made me want to try! (But perhaps not with Kaffe Fasset fabrics…!)

    Like

  19. This is going to be so gorgeous!! I love the circles…OMG! I guess I better write this on my bucket list! I can’t wait to see more. The colors are bright and bold. Just beautiful Teje!

    Like

  20. So beautiful! I have wanted to try this quilt for a long time.

    Like

  21. This is striking!

    Like

  22. Gorgeous!!! I have never sewn curves but you have inspired me!!! Can’t wait to see the finished quilt.

    Like

  23. Love everything about this – the fabrics, the design – it’s gorgeous.

    Like

  24. I love that, while you used busy fabrics and graphic solids, it still looks balanced and orderly. I’d love if you shared your detailed analysis of the process at my linky party: http://quiltingmod.blogspot.com/2016/02/lessons-learned-linky-2.html.

    Like

  25. It’s going to be gorgeous! I know what you mean about Kaffe fabrics, though, they fray like billyo!

    Like

  26. It’s looking so nice. I love the Kaffe prints with the solids. Good luck.

    Like

  27. How did i miss this? Such a beautiful riot of colors! Love the secondary patterns that from from some single blocks. Gorgeous Teje! Xxx

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

