Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

My scrap projects

35 Comments

Hi dear friends! Scraps are super fun and I have several scrappy projects going on. One of them began just yesterday.

little squares

This idea has been in my mind long time and yesterday I took some little squares I had already cut and continued cutting more 1.5″ x 1.5″ tiny squares. Slowly arranging them … deciding about the colours … perhaps still changing my mind.

little squares

My portable design wall is too small. Have to make this in sections …

little squares

… or to wait to empty my big design wall …

little squares

… and have to cut more little squares. I won’t tell you yet what this is going to be, but you are welcome to share your guessings in the comments.

fabric forest

My Fabric Forest is going on very well. It has grown since this photo but as said the wall is now full of something else. I try to stay away from those little trees because if I start to make them, I can’t stop. Instead of sewing by hand those trees, I have been quilting by hand the ‘Splinters on Snow’. I hope to finish this soon because next quilt top is soon finished and ready for quilting.

Splinters on Snow by Teje

I think those mouse steps on the snow look fun.

Splinters on Snow by Teje

These photos are from today. Gorgeus sunny day again! Looks like we have few days cold and rain and then some sunny and warm days. Tomorrow perhaps comes rain again.

IMG_4498

One day I was ripping some blocks. They had my favourite fabrics but didn’t work for the project I had tried them. So better rip them and use for something than have them forgotten in a box. I realized that the ripping wasn’t bad job to do at all. Have to check if I have any other orphan blocks that I could use for something else.

IMG_4494

I start to have good amount strips and many great quilt ideas to use them. Just how to make up my mind?!

It’s second Tuesday of a month and time for ‘Scraptastic Tuesday’! I shall join the linky party!

Also I join my favourite weekly linky parties:
Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Oh Scrap

little squares

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you love scraps and join the party! Thank you also for your lovely comments! It’s always enjoy to read them!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

35 thoughts on “My scrap projects

  1. I’m really looking forward to seeing what you do with those 1.5″ squares!
    Your forest is magical and fun! I can see where it would be hard to stop sewing those wonderful tiny trees!

    Like

  2. I love you tiny projects! the forest is wonderful- I may need to start a new hand project just to try!

    Like

  3. I love your tiny projects! I may need to start a new hand project to try it out.

    Like

  4. So many fun projects going on! Such bright, happy scraps.

    Like

  5. Can’t wait to see what happens with those colorful squares! They look so pretty just sitting in that white tray. Your forest as always is awesome, as is the quilting on Splinters in the Snow.

    Like

  6. Lovely projects! I’m guessing pixelated image and I’m looking forward to see some more 🙂

    Like

  7. Aivan ihania minitilkkuja! Tulisiko siitä perhonen? Juuri nyt, kun on pimeää ja märkää, on ihana vain tuijotella noita pieniä värikkäitä kankaanpaloja. Hiirenpolut näyttää hyvältä. Siitä tulee oikean hyväntuuleen työ. Aurinkoista huomiseksi! Meillä on luvassa sadetta, mutta on tilkku- ja ranskankurssit!

    Like

    • Kiitos Marle! Enpa taida viela paljastaa. Aurinko paistelee viela mutta alkaa pilvistya. Ehdittiin kiva kavely Hannan kanssa ja Nerokin kavi lempipaikassaan jonne menee autolla (rakastaa autoajelua). Nyt voikin loppupaivan ommella vaikka satais. Voisinpa tulla tilkku- ja ranskan tunneille. x Teje

      Like

  8. Scrappy squares are such fun – yours look great, looking forward to seeing the project unfold. Your hand quilting looks wonderful too, very playful.

    Like

  9. Jotain kaunista on tulossa, ehkä seinälle. Tykkään noista pirteistä väreistä. Hyvässä mallissa on muutkin projektisi 🙂

    Like

    • Kiitos Saija! Taas tulee jotain seinalle. Kun ei tilkkupeitoille ole usein kayttoa taalla. Taas luvassa etelatuulta ja +20C! Pilvistyy kuitenkin ja ehka alkaa sataa joten hyva ommella loppupaiva. x Teje

      Like

  10. Beautiful photos and some lovely scrappy projects.

    Like

  11. Hi Teje
    I love your fabric forest, it is such a fun quilt, but of the two I really love mouse steps in the snow, something about it just hits a nerve.

    Smiles from
    Kate

    Like

  12. You have a great collection of fabric scraps, and I love how all three of those quilts can showcase little bits and pieces of beautiful fabrics. They all look very joyful.

    Like

  13. That little mouse made prints in loops and circles all over your triangle quilt. He must be very dizzy by now!

    Like

  14. You certainly know how to inspire me with all your scrap projects! Love Splinters on snow especially! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    Like

  15. Looks like butterfly to me, but too big for your forest.

    Like

  16. Will the scraps transform into a butterfly? They are all so pretty together and I love your fabric forest!

    Like

  17. I really like the quilting on your Splinters in the Snow. It looks very much like critter trails!

    Like

  18. I love all the colors your fabrics have!

    Like

  19. Your Fabric Forest is gorgeous!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

