Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Nero’s quilt guild meeting

57 Comments

Vof vof vof! It’s me Nero and I welcome you to join our quilt guild meeting!

Nero's quilt guild meeting

We had a meeting on Sunday and from the morning I started to collect things we might need. Fabrics and scraps, projects to continue, sewing things, quilting magazines and of course goodies! I’m ready!

Nero is stamping

My first project was to try stamping on fabric. I took my letter stamps in wooden box, colours and also few other fun stamps.

 

fabric stamping

I tried stamping label for my quilt guild and puppy paws, my favourites! That’s Hanna’s paw there.

fabric stamping

My first try is not perfect and I have wash these to see what happens.

Hanna's fabric trees

Hanna’s first job was to prepare new trees for our Fabric Forest.

Nero's quilt guild meeting

Then it was time to have some coffee, cake, coocies and nami nami.

fabrics

After the coffee brake I took a closer look at the fabrics we were thinking to use for one project. Difficult to choose the colours. Perhaps Nelli could help me.

Nelli and scraps

What you think Nelli? Should I mix some solids with the fabrics I shall use for the file cover?

Seriously Nero? These are the scraps you thought to use?

Nelli

Can’t you see Nero, that this yellow is totally wrong. That yellow on your other fabric is mustard . Please take care about the shades.

Nelli

No way, nice colour but doesn’t go at all with the other fabrics …  I’m not really so excited about these solids.

Okey Nelli, thank you for your help, I do this on my own. I have to think carefully if that hexagon print with red can fit to my plan. I really like it …

Nero's fabrics

… but also I want to use this turquoise and the butterflies.

Nero's fabrics

Perhaps I should have a brake and read few quilting magazines. I may find an idea from there.

Nero's quilting magazines

Hey, our friend Susan is here! And look what she has made…pin cushion with a dog! Super!

Hanna's notes

While I was trying to decide the fabrics, Hanna made plans for the file cover we are going to make. She is such a good girl with pencil and paper. She makes great notes and planning illustrations.

Hanna's notes

While Hanna was drawing and writing the details, I thought to have a short nap with my favourite pillow ‘Bird on My Pillow’.

Nero's bird Pillow

When we were making plans for the ‘file cover’ project, Teje had secret project to stitch.

hand quilting moomins

So this was our quilt guild’s meeting yesterday. You can see that we had lots of fun!

Nero and Hanna

Today our minds are some where else … we have a new neighbour … little puppy! She is German Shephard girl and you can imagine that we can’t wait to meet her! Teje met her and said that she is as cute as we were!

Thank you for reading my post, I hope you enjoyed your visit! Until next time we have some hand quilting to do and we need to make that file cover. And the fabric trees … and some aprons … list is always endless.

See you soon! Hugs!

NERO AND HANNA

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

57 thoughts on “Nero’s quilt guild meeting

  1. Reblogged this on Nero's Post and Patch and commented:

    Read all the post in our new address.

    Like

  2. I love your blog…your dogs & cat & quilts, & love pics of Greece ,🙂

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. YOUR NERO LOOKS JUST LIKE MY BEAR BEAR. HE CROSSED OVER THE RAINBOW BRIDGE SEVERAL YEARS AGO. I STILL MISS HIM
    SANDI

    Like

  4. Looks like Nero’s guild meeting was quite successful! Hopefully, he and all his furry pals will get everything they want done accomplished. 🙂

    Like

  5. Nero, I am laughing so hard that I’m crying. Oh, no, you didn’t make me sad–I am just so so happy that your meeting was so great and that Teje shared pictures with us of everything that happened. I am so glad you kept an eye on the food–especially your nami nami in the pretty bowls–but I don’t think you or Hanna would sneak any treats. I really like the fabrics you are choosing, and Hanna has done some fine design work. I can understand how you wore yourself out! And a GS puppy next door–I bet she has really soft ears (probably both folded down right now) and velvety bottoms of her paws. She’s so lucky to live next door to all of you. Maybe she can join your guild when she grows up a little. Please invite us to another guild meeting sometime 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much dear Karen! I’m really happy you had fun with my photos! You guesse right that we never sneak any treats from the table. Today we got some little white calcium ‘bones’ covered with dried bacon! New puppy is adorable and I can’t wait to play with her. I hope our quilt quid has a new meeting soon! Hugs! Nero

      Like

  6. Hey Nero and Hanna, Now that’s the kind of quilt guild that I want to join. Puppies,(and kitties) pastries, pins, pieces and patches of fabric! The best! What fun we could have. I’m coming right over. Oh, there’s an ocean to cross? Well then, I’ll just have to be content being there in my mind’s eye. Hugs from Lady Caroline
    Reply

    Like

  7. Moi Nero, Hanna ja Nelli! Ihanaa, että autatte Tejeä tilkkujen kanssa. Hän ehtii sillä aikaa tikata ja keitellä kahvit ja järjestää tarjoilut, kun te valitsette kankaita. Hyviä valintoja olette tehneetkin. Toivottavasti saatte tarpeeksi nameja palkkioksi työstänne. Uskon, että Nero pitää siitä huolen. Nytkin kahvitauolla ennen muita! Olette niin suloisia kaikki ❤ ❤ ❤ PS. Lintytyynysi on ihana.

    Like

    • Kiitos Marle ja kiva kun kirjoitit! Aloitettiin just kansion paallista mutta sitten olikin jo ruoka-aika. Nyt on sitten kahvi tauko ja valilla syodaan nameja. Ollaan kovia herkuttelemaan! Kohta mennaan viela kavelylle ja sitten ehka ehditaan hetki ommella. Halit! Nero

      Like

  8. This is just so cute, love those furry quilters.

    Like

  9. Oi, jospa oisin saanut olla mukana!

    Like

  10. Hilarious! Your furry quilt guild members are far more ambitious than mine – they spend all their time just trying to either snuggle up in a finished quilt, or catch my eye and sigh at me for cookies when I’m working on a quilt! What a fun post – made my day!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Andrea! We take quilting job seriously here and then we try to help. But the time spend on the computer we don’t understand and then we want to play, take goodies, go for a walk and to do more funny things. Hugs! Nero

      Like

  11. So much fun! Looks like a great meeting! Would love to join your guild someday.

    Like

  12. Hi Teje, thanks for sharing, great post. I have also quilt guild members but they are not as talented aus yours! Mine normally only pick up threads from the floor! x Barbora

    Like

  13. This post is so cute….your doggy quilters look so happy there at the quilt guild!
    Thanks for your sweet comment, Teje too… my little Molly dog has indeed been sitting on my new blanket today and looking cute!
    Happy week to you all.
    Helen xox

    Like

    • Thank you Helen! Nero and Hanna enjoy any game we play together! Especially Nero looks like he really enjoys modelling for photos. It’s always nice to see sweet Molly. x Teje

      Like

  14. Do you think the neighbour puppy will be able to join Nero’s sewing guild when she is old enough to hold a needle?
    Hang on, how do they hold needles?

    Like

  15. Looks like lots of fun is going on!

    Like

  16. I wish my Ella and Indi were so helpful. I did have one lovely afternoon with Ella lying at my feet, until I realised she had chewed the bottom of my quilt! Luckily it was a scrappy border and I could salvage it.

    Smiles from
    Kate

    Like

    • Thank you Kate! Sorry I’m laughing. When Hanna was small, she chewed whole to one curtain and the couch cover, but fortunately they naver harmed any quilt. x Teje

      Like

  17. What a great group of stitching friends. Thank you for starting my morning off with a smile.

    Like

  18. Another enjoyable post Teje! Your fur kid family is the same as mine: 2 dogs and 1 cat. Love the one shot of Nero STARING at the table…make that the biscuits. So cute having a nap too. And Nelli! Isn’t it funny how you can feel the difference in personality from cat to dog? Have fun with the new neighbour! And the endless list of projects…oh I have one of those too!

    Like

    • Thank you Sandra! Nero is so good boy. As you see he’s so big that has his head is on the table but he never takes anything. Nelli looks always so serious and couldn’t care less about our game. x Teje

      Like

  19. This bird on my pillow is really stunning!!!! I think i will make one for my mum as she is very fond of birds…..I always like reading your posts, they are making me feel a little girl, please take this as a compliment….

    Like

    • Thank you Antigone! I’m so happy to hear you like our stories. I confess that I don’t feel very adult … shall I ever grow up?! This bird pillow is my favourite – I like the fabrics. Did you see my tutorial? x Teje

      Like

  20. The furry guild looks like a lot of fun!

    Like

  21. Oh this was so much fun! Great post, wonderful Guild!

    Like

  22. My Quilt Inspector wants to join the guild! Though he mainly likes to sit on quilts-in-progress and supplies, so I am not sure he would be a welcome addition! Great post, and as always, wonderful furry creatures.

    Like

    • Thank you! He is very welcome to sit on a quilt in our guild meeting! Usually Nelli does that but this time she stayed in her baset and wasn’t interested about our doings. x Teje

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Thank you for inviting us to your guild meeting! It is always so much fun to sit and sew a bit with you. And to share a coffee and a little treat. Always a pleasure!

    Like

  24. Love the pics, so much fun. If only my girls were as well behaved. Ella once chewed the edge of my quilt while I was stitching it. She was so quiet I didn’t even notice. Good job it was a scrappy border and could be replaced.

    Like

  25. Your blog is lovely, so cheery. Thanks for sharing … especially Nero.

    Like

  26. Sounds like the best quilt guild meeting ever! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  27. Ha ha! Another fun and happy post with your beautiful fur babies and yummy fabrics! Ros

    Like

    • Thank you Ros! I wish you and Oscar could join us! You could bring your beautiful knittings and Nero would have special goodies for Oscar! Or perhaps they would only play ball! x Teje

      Like

  28. Nero and Hanna have been putting ideas into Belle and Misty’s heads (my border collies) . I told them out the quilting guild meeting and now they want to have one too! Great photos – lovely to have just discovered your blog – I’ll be back very soon. Ax

    Like

  29. Too cute! Your snoopervisors making sure you get the job done right!

    Like

  30. What a wonderful post! I’d love to visit your guild meeting. You are a great team 🙂

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

