Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Cover for notebooks and files – Tutorial

21 Comments

Hello! Fabric cover for my file is finished and I shall show you how I made it. With this tutorial you can make cover for any book, notebook, journal,  file and folder.

file cover

I plan the fabric placement on the file. I have to say that this time I made a mess with my fabric choise. I really like these fabrics but because I don’t have usually mustard yellow on my palet, it was a challenge.

IMG_4662

This is the main piece for the cover (photo below).

IMG_4675

Check with your file or notebook that you have made it correct size. Remember to have the seam allowance around.

IMG_4674

Now I add still two pieces on both short sides. They will be inside and create the ‘envelopes’. You can make your main piece long enough with the same fabrics but I used some left overs for the sides.

IMG_4677

If you like to have pockets or some other details inside the file, now is time to add them.

IMG_4679

Sew your pockets etc. on their place. Then cut linen. Linen piece is exactly the same size as the main piece.

IMG_4683

Place your pieces right sides inside and sew the short sides. Don’t sew the long sides. Turn right side out.

IMG_4685

Place your file or notebook on fabric. Fold the sides as shown in the photo above. Pin and sew. It’s easier to put the pins if you have your work out from your table.

IMG_4686

After sewing those, it’s good to check that your cover is correct size. So turn it right side out and place your file/notebook in your cover.

IMG_4688

If everything looks good, turn your cover again right side inside and sew sik sak on the long sides.

IMG_4690

Then turn it right side out and press so that the seam allowance in the middle stays nicely inside when the cover is on the file/notebook.

IMG_4693

That’s it! We  are ready to fill our file. This time I made ‘sleeve’ for my notebook. I haven’t tried this before so I have to see how it works. If not, I make that also pocket. This would work better with the notebook where the spiral is up, but I had this now in my hands.

IMG_4696

IMG_4760

IMG_4764

I hope this tutorial helps you to create your own beautiful fabric covers! Thank you for reading and thank you for your lovely comments!

Nero sends you gbig hugs! He is super happy with your sweet comments on his ‘Nero’s Guild Quilt Meeting’ post!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

21 thoughts on “Cover for notebooks and files – Tutorial

  1. such a neat idea I love this

    Like

  2. Nero’s Furry Quilt Guild. So cute. Stamping paws. Love all of your great ideas.

    Like

  3. Great idea! And a good way to use up some scraps.

    Like

  4. Oh pretty! I love functional things!

    Like

  5. Thanks for sharing this great tutorial with Oh Scrap! It looks so pretty 🙂

    Like

  6. Great idea! Have a nice week!

    Like

  7. Love the cover! Thank you for a great tutorial!!

    Like

  8. Ei mitään sotkua ollenkaan, oikein kauniit ja kivan väriset kannet tuli!

    Like

  9. Thanks for the great tutorial- I have so many ugly folders that could use a little love!

    Like

  10. I hadn’t thought of using a file to cover before but it would make a great quilt diary and planner. I could just add whatever pages I needed and a set of dividers. You demonstrated how easy it is to customise for whatever needs have. Thats a great tutorial, thank you.

    Like

    • Thank you Kathleen! My first file cover was made with old jeans and it was an album for dog photos. Can’t remember when I made that but perhaps I was about 16. Would be nice to see how I made it, but it’s some where in store in Finland. x Teje

      Like

  11. Gorgeous cover here. I made some to a similar years ago but this has inspired to make some more!

    Like

  12. Your notebook cover turned out just lovely! I love your fabric choices, Teje. Thanks so much for sharing the tutorial!

    Like

  13. What a fabulous idea! I love your fabric choices…especially your focal point! Thanks for the great tutorial!

    Like

  14. What a fun notebook cover- love your fabric choices!

    Like

  15. Another great idea, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  16. Nice and scrappy notebook cover.

    Like

  17. Oh you’ve made it look super simple! 🙂 I don’t have any files, but I could use the same concept for covering books!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

