Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Project with Quick Curve ruler and batiks

19 Comments

Hello friends! I hope you are fine! Guess what? I received a surprise parcel … and what I found … Quick Curve ruler! Jippiiii!

Quick Curve ruler

First evening was filled with wonder, reading the pattern that followed the ruler and thinking what fabrics I can pick to start quickly! This ruler was a surprise present from my friend Leena at ‘Tilkkutie’! Thousands of thanks, Leena! A while ago we had a fabric swap with Leena. I got some lovely pinks and I sent to Leena some batiks. That made me think that I could make a small project with batiks.

batiks

You may have noticed that I haven’t used batiks before but I’m lucky to have several of them (also present from a special friend) – Thank you, Sonja!

batiks

I am so so exited to have this Quick Curve ruler! I wanted to challenge myself this year with curves and now I can! Also I’m really happy for the pattern, Leena sent to me, because with that it’s easy to understand how to use the ruler. Curves I could have cut, but to understand how to cut all those pieces without templates would have been impossible.

my sewing table

This was the scene on my table when I started. First I cut center pieces from my favourite fabrics. Then I didn’t know how to continue. This is a good colour challenge, too! I had to pick my coloured pencils and try to make a plan.

my sewing table

I emptied my design wall from the ‘Fabric Forest’ and put the first pieces there.

Chic Country

Chic Country

I wanted to use orange, yellow and purple. Here the purple creates square …

Chic Country

But I prefer the light ‘pink’ square so I changed them …

Chic Country with batiks

Then what about the yellows? I think they are better if they are mixed …

Chic Country with batiks

Surrounding was still missing. This almost white fabric is part of the pink. That fabric is beautiful where the colour change from white through peach till dark pink/purple. But I think the surrounding needs colour.

Chic Country with batiks

Then I was still thinking if I should leave out the dark blue. You see there are innumerable amount possibilities! The photo below shows the result where I left this yesterday evening. I had made up my mind. Brown bothers me a little bit; not the best with the purple.

wnding ways

You understand that first thing to do in the morning was to see if I still like this. Brown is not so good and I liked all the yellows ‘inside’. Could the brown be outside?

Chis Country with batiks

By the way, yesterday evening I said in the IG that I start to sew this. Then I thought that late evening is not the best time to start to sew curves. So I started to connect little fabric trees. Soon it’s end of the month and time to show our Quilty 365′ projects.

IMG_4845

Shall I still change something with the batiks? I think I go now quickly to sew the pieces and don’t allow myself think any changes. You’ll see soon how my curve-batik project ends up.

Look how beautiful quilt Leena is making with the Cuick Curve ruler using sunny yellow, orange and white! Thank you again Leena, this was a super super good present!

Thank you very much for reading my sewing and quilting stories! Thank you also for your lovely comments! They make me happy!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Project with Quick Curve ruler and batiks

  1. Oh my! That looks terrific but I would never be able to get that pattern sewn together. I would have to use glue! Your color arrangement is lovely, you have a real gift in that. We will look forward to your progress. Thanks for showing the progression of the arrangements,that was very helpful.

    Like

    • Thank you Sonja! I’m so happy for these batiks I got from you! They are perfect for curve patterns! I’m sure the sewing is now easy because the pieces are well cut. x Teje

      Like

  2. Beautiful curves! And batiks!

    Like

  3. Mielettömän upea! Pitäisiköhän hankkia tuo vempain? Olen ihan paperimallineella tehnyt jo parikymmentä blokkia ja suunnitelmissa jo seuraava työ tuolla mallilla. Noista sinun eri variaatioista näkee hienosti, miten taustavärien vaihtaminen muuttaa koko työtä. Kun vaihdoit keltaiset mixed, niin siihen tuli kolmiulotteisuutta. Aivan upeat värit!

    Like

    • Kiitos Marle! Suosittelen ehdottomasti tata vempainta! Nyt en viitsis millaan jatkaa niita kasin, paperikaavalla leikkaamiani epatarkkoja paloja joita tein Kaffen kankailla. Nyt tekisin mielellaani vaan eri varisia vaihtoehtoja enka malta alkaa ommella x Teje

      Like

  4. Wow! All those beautiful curves–and so many great choices for the colors. You’re giving me just the push that I need to explore color choices before I decide on a final layout, Teje. Hmmm–probably need to make some kind of design wall–just throwing things on the bed doesn’t really give me a good view of what’s going on 😦 So glad to see your forest again, too.

    Like

    • Thank you Karen! Design wall, any kind, makes a big difference. There are many easy ways to make simple one. I just finished the centre block with curves and I do hope this gets easier. x Teje

      Like

  5. I have had that ruler/pattern for almost a year!!!! It’s been floating in my brain to do something but nothing has come of it. I do like the final(?) setting you showed. Lots of “impact”!!!! Fun!!!!

    Like

  6. Näyttääpä hyvältä tuo blokkisi, sitä on mukava rakentaa kuin palapeliä. Minulla on myös tuo viivain ja mallikin, vain aloitus puuttuu.

    Like

    • Kiitos Saija! Kokeile ihmeessa tata viivainta ja mallia. Todella hyvat ja innostavat miettimaan lisaa kaari-malleja. Hyvaa Maaliskuuta! x Teje

      Like

  7. Great color choices! I look forward to seeing this quilt progress!

    Like

  8. Onpas ihana vekotin! Ja varmaankin mielettömän hyvä apulainen! Kivat noi sun värikokeilut ja niistä näkee hyvin miten värit toimii keskenään ja korostavat eri muotoja! Hyvää ompeluviikkoa!

    Like

    • Kiitos Anneli! Tama kaari viivain on tosi hyva! En malttais odottaa etta paasisin kokeilemaan ties mita malleja. Nyt on kuitenkin liikaa muita toita listalla. Hyvaa Maaliskuuta! x Teje

      Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

