Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Bee, myself and I

19 Comments

Hi dear friends! Sunday is for sewing – that has a nice sound! Today I made bee blocks for myself.

on my design wall

After working with those strong coloured batiks, it was a pleasure to fill my design wall with some lighter, candy colours.

What is this thing about bee, myself, me, i … it’s all about selfish sewing and making quilt blocks for ourselves.

Granny Maud's Girl: Bee, Myself and I

Carla from ‘Granny Maud’s Girl’ had a great idea to make bee blocks for ourselves. She even made this adorable button. Read all the details and the participants at the moment, HERE. If you like to join, contact Carla.

quilting fabrics

After finishing the Chic Country mini quilt top yesterday evening, I took out blocks I have made now and then. Using what ever colours and pattern I feel at that time, I have made these blocks just for fun. Now I shall continue them as ‘Bee, myself and I’.

Churn Dash

Today I wanted to make Churn Dash blocks. I picked some already cut pieces and made hst squares to match the size and then chose the centre piece.

quilt block

Before sewing the pieces, I tried how it would look in other way. I like this, too. And then ofcourse I sew the first part wrong way. Some ripping and the Charn Dash block was finished.

Churn Dash quilt block

Before showing the other colour option, I like to tell you that we had today wonderful lunch with friends. Weather was gorgeus and we sat outside in the local taverna.

taverna

Usually the place is covered with vine and at the end of the summer with lots of grapes. Now the view was this …

IMG_4871

Lemon tree in our garden …

lemons

And then back to quilt blocks. The other Churn Dash block became green. I found some left over hst squares and used them for the corners.

Churn Dash quilt block

Now the next job in the sewing room is to prepare my new theme for the ‘Quilty 365’. It’s almost March and I have made enough trees for January and February. Still some straight line sewing to connect all of them.

on my design wall

This was the view on my design wall before today’s Churn Dash blocks, just in random order.

I hope you have time for selfish sewing and enjoy making quilt blocks just for fun without any pressure.

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments!

I’m linking at my favourite weekly parties:

Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Oh Scrap

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Bee, myself and I

  1. Such pretty churn dash blocks, and your design wall, too! Feels like spring for us northerners!

    Like

    • Thank you Diann! I enjoy these spring colours and it’s fun to make improvised blocks or those from our ‘list’ that are waiting for ever to become a quilt projects. x Teje

      Like

  2. There are so many happy blocks filling up your design wall. Thanks for sharing them with Oh Scrap!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Bee, myself and I: February | Granny Maud's Girl

  4. I love the idea of making blocks just for fun, using whatever colours and patterns you feel like at the time. I particularly like your colour and fabric choices.
    Nice ‘winter’ weather you are having, Teje. 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi Teje, you have always something wonderful on your design wall. It is a pleasure to see how you work with fabrics and designs. x Barbora

    Like

  6. Hello Teje! I’m here from Granny Maud’s Girl to see your selfish sewing. I love your blocks! You’ve made up some of my favorite patterns in such cheerful colors. I think I need to have a further look around to absorb more of the light and colors of Crete!

    Like

    • Thank you! I’m happy if you like what I have on the design wall. I enjoy those spring colours and hope my photos cheer your day! x Teje

      Like

  7. Your blocks look great! Such clever colour and pattern arrangements. Love seeing those gorgeous shots of your neighbourhood too. We could do with some of your lovely sunshine here in the UK right now! Ros and Oscar x

    Like

  8. Heippa Teje! Nämä ovat nyt enemmän “sinun näköisiäsi” (vrt edellinen työ), mutta kaikkea pitää kokeilla, uusia värejä ja yhdistelmiä. Kokeiluissa löytää itsestään aina jotain uutta. Mukavaa päivää!

    Like

    • Kiitos Leena! Niimpa tuntuvat minustakin ‘omilta’. Vaikka batiikit ovat tosi herkullisia, ovat ehka minulle liian voimakkaita. Mutta kylla niillekin viela loytyy hyvin malleja. Hyvaa Maaliskuuta! x Teje

      Like

  9. Gorgeous colors, so fresh and sweet. What a lovely window into your place, the photos are almost aromatic! Thanks for your inspiration.

    Like

  10. I love those churn dash blocks!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

