Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Quilty 365 – March linkup

73 Comments

Hello friends! Happy new month! 1st of March, who could believe, and it’s a showtime! How are we going on with our ‘Quilty 365’ projects?

Fabric Forest by Teje

I have made 60 little trees, one for each day of January and February. I chose to add four ’empty’ blocks so that I could make this square.

Nero and Fabric Forest

Weather was today once again amazing, so warm that I changed to flip flops (for the first time this early) when cleaning in the garden. Yesterday we had terrible strong, warm south wind and it dropped so much leaves all around. I took the ‘Fabric Forest’ on the outside design wall. Soon the wooden fence will be green, covered with vine leaves.

garden

IMG_4909

lunch in the garden

Coffee outside, with Hanna, Nero and Finnish magazine. And look what there was on the first page!

Koti ja Keittio

OMG, those tiles are the best! I would love to have a kitchen wall or a table covered with these!

hexagon tiles

I’m really happy to receive every month the Finnish ‘Koti ja Keittio’ (Home and Kitchen) magazin. It’s full of beautiful houses, decorations, ideas, photos are really good and it gives to me inspiration for home and sewing.

Koti ja Keittio

My special table cloth is painted and made by dear friend. And now few process shoots …

quilt blocks

raw edge applique trees

fabric trees

 

Hanna and Fabric Forest

Weather is turning and now it’s cloudy, very high humidity and the air is full of African dust. It will rain and after the rain everything outside is muddy dirty. I hope my car is in the garace when it’s raining dust! But in the lunch time today, Hanna still missed her sun glasses!

Hanna

You know that this ‘Quilty 365’ project is about making one block with and applique circle (or what you choose) every day for one year. Because I shall have a problem with time, I let myself to make my own schedule. My plan was to make new theme for every three months. The truth is that 60 trees is big enough forest for me. And the other truth is that I don’t have enough time. So my plan B is that I make blocks two months and then third month is for finishing the project and preparing the new one. I have so many ideas for following months that who knows if I still start new theme in few days … other wise it will start in April.

One other thing is that I hope to sew clothes this month. I’m always too late and don’t have time to make any summer clothes. This time the weather has helped me to think this early enough. So I have already ideas for summer blouses and perhaps even skirts (when I was wearing skirt last time???)

dogs in the garden

I’m linking for the ‘Quilty 365’ at ‘Quiltyfolk’ and at weekly linky parties:
Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Fabric frenzy Friday!Whoomp There It Is!,  Oh Scrap

Belgian - German Shephard Nero

So now I don’t have any idea what I shall do next. I have so many and so different ideas in my mind … today I even took out some yarns because I really miss knitting … I think I start with those … or should I sew …

Thank you friends for reading my blog! Thank you for writing beautiful, fun and supporting comments! Thank you for your replies by email as I’m no-reply ‘wordpresser’!

I hope you have wonderful March! Are you planning to sew summer clothes?

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

73 thoughts on “Quilty 365 – March linkup

  1. What a great idea, to make little trees, and yours are beautiful with those visible stitches! I enjoy your blog too for the photos of your sweet dogs!

    Like

  2. I think the hexagonal tiles are beautiful too, in fact I was looking at some on google at ‘ Peronda hexagonals’ – Spain . Only thing is I’m in UK and don’t know if they’re available here. I can dream…..

    Like

  3. Thank you Teje for sharing your fabric forest quilt. I find the result so funny and sweet … I think I’m going to sew one too, if you don’t mind I “steal” your idea.
    The tiles are fantastic indeed….
    Have a great day! Here, in France, it’s cold and rainy.
    Elisabeth

    Like

    • Thank you so much Elisabeth! I’m happy if someone finds ideas and inspiration from my blog; that’s why I write this blog and show my projects. I would love to see your fabric forest if you make one! x Teje

      Like

  4. Super-ihana kangasmetsä! Miten minä pääsisin sinne hortoilemaan ja istuskelemaan puiden alle? Hauskoja hieman vinksin vonksin olevia puita. Minulla on kaksi kangasta hankittuna tunikaa/puseroa varten. Vain ompeluinto puuttuu. Ehkä odotan niitä lämpimiä ilmoja meillekin. Aina kun katson noita ihania karvalaisia, minulle tulee palava halu saada oma kodin karvoittaja. 5 kk ilman lemmikkiä on kamalan pitä aika. Lisää aurinkoisia päiviä sinulle! Ei sateita, ainkaan harmattaa.

    Like

    • Kiitos kovasti Marle! Olisipa ihana retkeilla kangasmetsassa ja kerata korin taydellinen kankaita! Itsekaan en meinaa loytaa intoa vaateiden ompeluun. En vaan oikein loyda kaupoistakaan sopivia, joten nyt koitan innostua kun on sopivia kankaitakin. Toivon etta voitte saada uuden lemmikin; koti tuntuisi tyhjalta ilma karvaisia ystaviamme. x Teje

      Like

  5. Those trees are so cute, and I see a little bird house in there too!

    Like

  6. Love the quilt. the trees are adorable. Also thanks for sharing photos of your pups.

    Like

  7. The tree blocks are awesome and I’ve had a lot of fun watching your forest grow!

    Like

  8. Tämä on kyllä nyt jo niin hurmaava työ ❤ Kesävaatteiden teko on suunnitelmissa joka kevät mutta saapas nähdä kuinka tänä keväänä käy:)

    Like

  9. They all look gorgeous – a wonderful forest!

    Like

  10. Love your creative little trees so much! The process shots are wonderful too.:)

    Like

  11. Your Fabric Forest looks fabulous all put together and hanging outside for photos. Today we have a “snow day” and the kids are home from school. I will dream of wearing flip flops again soon, thanks to you! Looking forward to seeing what you choose to make for summer clothes!

    Like

    • Thank you Lorna! I try to keep going sewing summer clothes but now the weather is not so warm and I have to remind myself that soon it’s hot summer, so sew on! x Teje

      Like

  12. A beautiful photo shoot. I especially love the picture with the flowering bush and the forest in the background. The balance of lights and darks in your forest backgrounds is perfect.

    Like

  13. Teje, it’s a wonderful whimsical forest! I love your idea of making more than one quilt – I’m going to do that too because not all of my blocks will go together very well. And I agree with you, ooh those tiles are gorgeous!

    Like

  14. Hi Teje! Your quilt top looks great! I like how you have made forest backrounds. Your photos are also so nice, are you still learning photografhy in that blog? You must had lovely time with that magazine! Have a lovely month and enjoy your day! x Anneli

    Like

    • Thank you so much Anneli! It’s always so great to read Finnish magazines and this I really like. It inspires to fix the home. Happy weekend! x Teje

      Like

  15. Your tree project is wonderful! So pretty and so creative. What a great idea to give yourself time to complete it and move to another daily project after this.

    Like

  16. I love, love, love your tree quilt. It is just so fun.

    Smiling and laughing,
    Kate

    Like

  17. I love your tree quilt and how you have made it up already! Rather envious to hear that you were in flips flops the other day …… I am longing to have free feet again!!

    Like

  18. Hi Teje, thank you for your comment on my blog! I reply here as you are “no-reply” blogger. I hope your knitted shawl is progressing and that you will share the pictures of it. You quilt top is very lovely!

    Like

  19. This is such a fun and interesting quilt, and the blocks are just great! Wow… 365 of these would just be crazy. What a great idea to taylor the project to what is doable for you… very smart!

    Like

    • Thank you Allison! I think this way I may be able to continue the quilty 365, even it’s not excatly 365 … or perhaps I just have to continue as long I reach those 365 days! x Teje

      Like

  20. What a wonderful idea. A little tree project.

    Like

  21. Love your theme, I’m new on the block for the 365 quilt theme and love your creative choice.

    Where do you life wondering about your African due reference.

    Sue I’ll come back again for a visit.

    Like

  22. Very nice forest. I think your three month plan is a good one. The 365 plans seem interesting, but very daunting! Good luck choosing what to do next!

    Like

    • Thank you Rachel! I had to give up the ‘every day block’ but hope that this new schedule works. I want to continue with some other ideas I have in my mind. x Teje

      Like

  23. I love so much your forest! Good idea to take a month to finish the quilt. You have so many ideas!!! No clothes to sew, I was so disappointed years ago! Enjoy nice weather, you are lucky!

    Like

  24. What great blocks – I love your take on this project.

    Like

  25. I really, really like your forest! Enjoyed looking at your gorgeous photos too.

    Like

  26. I love your Quilty 365 quilt! I agree that it is perfect as is. Yours was an ambitious block a day project. I love it!

    Like

  27. Such a cute quilt top Teje! Did you hand sew the trees on? I absolutely love your hand quilting!

    Like

  28. Your trees are a fun alternative to circles. I am loving how they are looking together.

    Like

  29. I love your unique little forest!

    Like

  30. Great idea to include some time to finish your little projects. I love this one and look forward to seeing what you come up with for future quilts. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

    Like

    • Thank you Cynthia! I sorry to brake the every day idea but can’t have time for everything and still I don’t want to give up this project. Have a lovely week! x Teje

      Like

  31. Your trees are awesome!

    Like

  32. Gorgeous blocks and how colourful and pretty they look together! You make such beautiful things Teje!
    Helen xox

    Like

  33. Darling little trees Teje. Your quilt is beautiful! I think you could make a hexagon quilt inspired by those tiles. It would be so pretty!

    Like

  34. The tiles would make a lovely back splash in my kitchen.
    Love what your doing with the 365 challenge!

    Like

  35. I love your fabric forest and your idea for two months of making and one of finishing or preparing is a great one!

    Like

  36. Teje,

    Just found you and your blog, hope to see more of your wonderful work.

    Cheers from USA,

    j

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

