Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

{Mouse Meeting} small quilt

69 Comments

Hi dear friends! I’m happy to show you my new quilt {Mouse Meeting}!

{Mouse Meeting} quilt by Teje

This story began with little scraps. When I was organizing my scraps I saw that there was lots of triangles and after collecting them I started to make blocks surrounding them with white scraps; first post is HERE.

triangle quilt top

I liked the blocks but wasn’t very excited about this project until I saw it on the sky! Quilting was a big question and finally I thought to try free motion by hand.

quilting by hand

When I lived in Finland I didn’t like very much snow. Now when I don’t have it, I miss that beautiful scene. Because the wadding is fluffy, quilting looks like some little creatures has ran around on the snow. This project began with name ‘Splinters on Snow’ but because mice wanted to have a meeting, I changed the name.

fabric mice

First members are waiting the meeting to start and the quilt to dry. This sweetheart is my favourite! Pink and green are so cute pair!

fabric mouse

First all the mice were looking around the meeting place…

Mouse Meeting by Teje

Few of them came last minute to join the meeting. I made them a little bit in hurry so you can see that it’s worth of changing the thread to matching colour when you sew something like this.

mice

Oh, did they have gossips to tell!

mice

Early arrived mice helped to finish the quilt …

quilt binding

wonder clips

mice on quilt

And there has to be photo of all members together so they can remember this fun meeting!

fabric mice

Every year there is The Blogger’s Quilt Festival. Fantastic event for all us quilters to see beautiful quilts, find new friends and show our quilts. This year there is a small change and the spring festival is in Instagram, organized again by amazing Amy from “Amy’s Creative Side”! Thank you Amy! You can see the quilts also HERE, if you don’t use instagram.

{Mouse Meeting} is my enter to #finallyfinished #igquiltfest @amyscreativeside

Mouse Meeting by Teje

Thank you for joining me today! I hope you enjoyed my mouse story! When I have played enough with my little mice, I shall catch them on the quilt and hang it on the wall in my sewing studio.

HAPPY SEWINGS! 

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

69 thoughts on “{Mouse Meeting} small quilt

  1. That is so sweet! I love your use of scaps, but the mice are adorable too! Very fun.

    Like

  2. That is a great use of the smallest scraps!

    Like

  3. Teje! This is the cutest thing ever. So sweet and very fun. Lovely bright colours and beautiful stitches.
    Thank you also for your lovely comment on my new yarn shop ; )

    Like

    • Thank you Carla! Even I would start with less colours, looks like i end up adding lots of colours! Have you seen Penny’s crochet mice? You could have mice running around in your shop’s window! x Teje

      Like

  4. very cute – I didn’t even know the quilt festival was going on – I do not use Instagram – good luck

    Like

    • Thank you Karen! You can see the quilts also in Amy’s blog; follow the link here in my post. in autumn the quilt show is again in blog posts as before. x Teje

      Like

  5. Very cute idea, I enjoyed reading your mouse story. The quilt you made is so cheerful!

    Like

  6. he he he I love the little tracks your mice made on the quilt … they are very cute. I also made a quilt with scraps this week … we are in sinc 🙂

    Like

  7. Hi Teje, What to say? The cutest quilt with sooo cute mouses! And the name of the quilt is the best! I love to read your blog! x Anneli

    Like

  8. I LOVE how you use “white” to make your happy quilts!!! Now, little mousies are not like by too many but these are THE CUTEST!!!!!! Hugs……………

    Like

  9. Nämä sinun hiirulaiset on niin ihania! Kiva nähdä, ketkä ne polut tuonne hankeen on tehnyt. Tuosta ylimmästä kuvasta tulee mieleen, että kyseessä on joku peli. Ihan sanattomaksi vetää, on niin ihana kirkkaine väreineen ja huippu idea nuo hiiret! Työn nimi on nyt paras mahdollinen. Olet mielttömän taitava ja luova! Minä vain ihailen.

    Like

  10. That is so cute! I love your hand quilting and the bright happy colours of the mice is fun!

    Like

  11. That is so cute and the binding fabric is perfect! Love the “meece”!

    Like

  12. THE MOST adorable post!!!! Such creative fun you had! Now I was wondering where the BLogger’s Quilt Festival went….esp. since I only blog. I missed out. Darn.

    Like

    • Thank you Valerie! Blogger’s quilt festival is this spring in IG but in autumn in blogs like before. You can see the quilts at Amy’s blog (link in my post) if you don’t use IG. x Teje

      Like

  13. I just love that quilt as well as its name, but those mice fellows are just the best. what a fun meeting they must have had. You are so imaginative, you should write a children’s book and use your quilts as part of the artwork. It would be such a happy, fun book. I’m serious, you should consider it. I read children’s books all the time and your stories are already better than most. Keep it up. I love to read about your tales. Hugs from us Sonja

    Like

    • Thank you so much dear Sonja! I would love to make a book for children, but that feels ‘too high mountain’ for me. Perhaps I keep it in my mind… Hugs! x Teje

      Like

  14. Ihana työ kerrassaan!!! Iloisen värinen hiiriporukkahan se siinä hangella juoksentelee, todellakin 🙂 Oikea hyvän mielen työ 🙂

    Like

  15. Those little mice are so cute and colourful, Teje. You always come up with the sweetest ideas! The mice footprints in the snow and those scrap triangles have made for a very lovely quilt. It will look so pretty hanging in your sewing room!

    Like

  16. This post is so sweet. The quilt is a great use of those bright triangles and I love the little mice.

    Like

  17. First I love your little quilt! All those tiny pieces of color certainly speak to me! But the mice…OMG, they are adorable and it looks like you had so much fun playing with them! I love the little frayed ears, so mice like! Well done Teje!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Jayne! I know you like little pieces like me! Also I like raw edges which were good for the ears. It’s fun how little scraps can look so live mice! x Teje

      Like

  18. Adorable!

    Like

  19. Oh Teje, you make the most adorable quilts. Mouse meeting is lovely, and I so enjoyed the story. Thank you for making me smile and brightening my day.

    Like

  20. Hurmaava työ! Onneksi sinulla hiiret kipittelevät hangella, meillä kuuluu vintiltä välillä pienten jalkojen rapinaa.Tutun näköistä kangasta vihreän hiiren korvissa. Hyvää pääsiäistä!

    Like

    • Kiitos kovasti Leena! Vaaleanpunaisessa oli just ihana hapsureuna korviin. Meilla Nelli pitaa huolen ettei hiiret tule liian lahelle; vaikka kerran se kylla toi itse hiiren sisalle ja saivat kumpikin akkilahdon. Oikein Hyvaa Paasiaista! x Teje

      Like

  21. This is such a lovely quilt — bright and cherry *and* made from scraps. And the mice are adorable, too. i love it!

    Like

  22. What a lovely post, Teje,

    And both your quilt and those mice are adorable! And together they are simply fantastic, that quilt with mice will be a piece of art on your wall. And it all started with scraps!! Love it!

    Iloista pääsiäistä (tätä kotoista täältä) sinne, ihania ompelupäiviä!

    Terkuin Mia

    Like

    • Thank you dear Mia! These little mice make me very happy and I know you like little creatures, too! Often scraps give me ideas and inspiration. Have a lovely week! x Teje

      Like

  23. Beautiful quilt, and the free motion quilting by hand is lovely. I adore the mice and the story you told through your blog post!

    Like

  24. Is your name perhaps Cinderella? Are some of the mice helping you perhaps named Jacques or Gus Gus? You quilt is colorful enough, whimsical enough, and happy enough that I think you must have had a fairy godmother looking over your shoulder! It made me smile – big time- and I loved your write-up.

    Like

  25. What a delightful story about a delightful quilt. We all have fabric triangles left, but I’ve never seen anyone suggest using them like this. It’s brilliant! Thank you; I’ll be setting my left over triangles in small blocks too. Not sure about the mice though!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Marlty! I’m happy to hear this inspired you to start with your triangles. If you like mice, what about little birds? x Teje

      Like

  26. Adorable! Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap! You are always so creative!

    Like

  27. I love this quilt and the mouse meeting!!

    Like

  28. Teje, I love you!!

    Like

  29. I’m in love with this quilt and those pretty little mice! The colours are stunning. Love, love, love! Ros x

    Like

  30. Very beautiful! Warm greetings from Montreal, Canada. 🙂

    Like

  31. Your quilt is so sweet and colourful Teje! And the addition of the adorable little mice is perfect! I really enjoyed looking at these beautiful photos too 🙂
    Happy new week.
    Helen xox

    Like

  32. This is the most wonderful quilt! It looks wonderful and the mice are a perfect finishing touch. It looks like their meeting was a lot of fun 🙂

    Like

  33. Fabulous quilt and mice

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

