Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

“Kimberly Sac” new bag

32 Comments

Hello friends! Long time I wanted to make a new bag and last week I saw just what I needed: ‘Kimberly Sac’.

Kimberly Sac bag

Beautiful, simple, practical and easy to make! I had to decide if I make patchwork or use whole fabric. Somehow this Marimekko’s fabric felt perfect choice. It’s cotton, firm but not canvas and great for a bag like this.

Ailakki by Marimekko

I took the size from my ‘Favourite Bag’ (tutorial), because it has really been my favourite. I picked bright blue fabric for details, found metal D-rings for the strap and big button for the closing. Finally the red fabric was left out.

bag project

I quilted the panels and made the strap. For the strap I cut 2.5″ strip from the blue and 2 1/4″ strip from the main fabric. I fold them half to get the line in the middle and then I fold both sides towards that line. Like that the blue shows just a little bit from the edges. At the ends I turn the main fabric inside the blue fabric so they are nicely finished and don’t need double folding.

bag project

bag detail

Little detail to finish the strap….button…and voila!

Kimberly Sac

I made the lining from light colour fabric to find my things, but add piece of blue to peep out.

Kimberly Sac bag

I know this is going to be my new favourite bag! I have used it already and it’s very comfy! I thought perhaps it’s very deep to find things but it’s not. And if I need more space I can put there knitted jacket (like yesterday when I felt too hot), quilt magazines, perhaps even a small quilt project!  Nero shows you the size…

Nero and bag

If you like to make your very own ‘Kimberly Sac’, look this post at Fat Quarter Shop’s blog. You can find there the pattern and to see the great video how to make your bag.

My inspiration came first from Leanne, who’s Kimberly Sac was the first one I saw. I have to say that now I’m really looking for to make this same bag with scraps!

Kimberly Sac by Teje

I’m linking at:

Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Thank you for joining me today! I hope your day is filled with fun projects and sunshine! 

Thank you for all the most sweet comments on my ‘Mouse Meeting’ quilt!!!

If you like cute stories, read this: ‘First day of Spring by Janine from ‘Rainbow Hare’!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

32 thoughts on ““Kimberly Sac” new bag

  1. Lovely bag! I especially like the blue hexagon detail!!

    Like

  2. that is a very nice simple bag – or it looks simple. Sometimes I like to make bags and other times I like them for just a little while and use them, then they get tossed on a shelf and I grab another – I’m so picky about purses. I love the little hexagon on the sides.

    Like

  3. What a great project, your finished bag is fab. I haven’t seen that Marimekko print before, I love the scale often their fabrics are such a large designs the beauty can be lost in cutting them down. The lighter lining so you can find things more easily is inspired. Thanks so much for linking up at Sew Cute Tuesday today – Chris (guest host) @madebyChrissieD 😀

    Like

  4. Love its simplicity and Scandinavian ‘feel’!!!! As always, a very “happy” fabric combo!!! Hugs…….

    Like

  5. Hei Teje! Kertakaikkisen kesäinen laukku! Minun on ihan pakko tehdä tuolla mallilla itslleni veska. Ajattelin ensin, että se on niin syvä ja sieltä on vaikea saada tavaroita, mutta jos kerran sanot toisin, niin uskottava on. Marimekon kangas toimii tuossa täydellisesti, se on niin upea! Aurinkoista viikkoa sinulle!

    Like

  6. This is a terrific bag, Teje! Since you made it smaller–and your size looks looks like a better size for me, too–could you tell me how big you made it, please? I sewed a lot of things in the 70’s with Marimekko fabrics, and I love your choice. (It’s just gotten so darned expensive 😦 Looks like Nero was so thirsty he didn’t even pose for his photo–give him a pat for me!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Karen! My bag is about 35 cm x 47 cm (from the bottom seam). Strap is about 115 cm. I think because the strap is long enough, it’s easy to use even it’s deep bag. I’m very happy with this. Marimekko’s fabrics are gorgeus but expencive. This was a bold end and a little bit better price. Yes, Nero didn’t notice at all that I had a photo shoot going on, just drank and went out again. I gave him a big pat! x Teje

      Like

  7. This is a great bag. I love the fabrics you’ve chosen and it looks just the right size 🙂

    Like

  8. This is a beautiful bag Teje. I love that you put a zipper at the top plus the quilting lines in opposite directions. Sweet details.

    Like

  9. Love the fabrics, the quilting and the little hexagon detail. A very beautiful bag, Teje!

    -Soma

    Like

  10. Gorgeous bag and I luuuuurve that fabric!

    Like

  11. I can see why this is your new favourite bag. Who can resist such bright happy fabric! I will definitely have a look at the tutorial. Thanks for the link!

    Like

  12. Sehr sehr schöne Tasche, mir gefällt vor allem der Stoff sehr gut!
    Liebe Grüße
    Steffi

    Like

  13. Tosi hyvä kassi! Minulla on ollut joskus vuonna keppi ja keihäs nahkalaukku tuolla mallilla ja tykkäsin siitä kovasti. Kangas toimii loistavasti tuossa mallissa.

    Like

    • Kiitos kovasti Leena! Nahkalaukku kuullostaa tosi hyvalta. Vanha nahkahameeni on odottanut ikuisuuden kassiksi muuntautumista. Ehka siita voisi tulla tallainen jos kone suostuu ompelemaan. x Teje

      Like

  14. Voi miten ihana kesäkassi! Minulla on myös tuota kangasta, tykkään siitä kovasti. Malli vaikuttaa kivalta, sopivan simppeliltä ilman turhia konstailuita!

    Like

    • Kiitos Saija! Aloin jo suunnitella taskuja ja vetoketjuja mutta sitten totesin etta nyt on tarkoitus tehda yksinkertainen ‘sakki’ kassi. Ja kun tama kassi taittuu niin ei sielta paase tavarat helposti karkuun. Jotenkin tama kangas on kuin tehty tahan. x Teje

      Like

  15. I am not a bag maker… But this is tempting me! Lovely fabrics and such a fresh looking tote!

    Like

  16. This looks like a bag I could make! Your fabric is so gorgeous and the bag turned out perfect! I love that the bag is small…Well done Teje!

    Like

    • Thank you Jayne! I’m happy with my new bag! Also this easy to make especially if you look the great video. This would be so good with little scraps, too! x Teje

      Like

  17. Thank you so much Kate! x Teje

    Like

  18. Oh, I love this little bag! The D-rings seem to make it more flexible than the ones I’ve been making, and I will give it a try. Fabric–awesome!

    Like

    • Thank you Julie! This is my favourite bag now. D-rings are good but mine are a little bit too big so they turn around as they like. x Teje

      Like

  19. Oh that is very cute – love the fabrics!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

