Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Quilty 365: finish and new start

47 Comments

Hello, hello, hello! I could have continued those little trees for ever … but had to put end some where …

Fabric Forest by Teje

Fabric Forest quilt

In the Fabric Forest sun is shining always! Sunlight through the trees were strong and made so deep shadows that I had to close the shutter to take photos. Hanna is on her way to the balcony where she likes to lie when I’m sewing.

Fabric Forest quilt

One of my favourite moments is when I can cut the edges and the quilt starts to have a clear look. Binding was easy pick as I knew much earlier which one it will be. But now I think should I have chosen solid? Ah, you know, there is always too many possibilities.

quilt binding

Quilting wasn’t so easy choise. This project was late because I didn’t have idea for the quilting. Then I decided to stitch spider web. After few lines I got the idea and had to rip those lines (perhaps for the first time ever I ripped quilting).

Fabric Forest by Teje

For the bed quilts I like to sew the binding by machine because it’s stronger. After realizing that hand sewing is much quicker than I thought, I like to hand sew the binding for the wall quilts.

Fabric Forest

Wonder clips remind me always of my dear friend who sent them to surprise me!

hand quilting

‘Fabric Forest’ is part of the Quilty 365 project. I started 1st of January 2016 and I made 60 little trees for January and February. To make the quilt square I add 4 empty blocks. In March I didn’t make blocks but sew this quilt to finish it and started new theme.

If you like to read more about my ‘Fabric Forest inspiration and project, click HERE, HERE and HERE.

I have so many ideas in my notebook for the Quilty 365! For the one I wanted to start, I didn’t find background fabric from my stash and didn’t want to by now. When looking for that fabric I got new idea …

quilty365

What you think? Looks quite fun!

applique circles

I cut pairs from hard paper: with the bigger I cut the fabric and with the smaller I baste.

applique circles

applique circles

And the fabric is from Ikea …

ikea fabric

I shall link with Audrey at ‘Quilty Folk’ for the ‘Quilty 365’.

Also I shall join my favourite weekly linky parties:

Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

Fabric Forest by Teje

‘Fabric Forest’ = ‘Kangasmetsa’ (in Finnish), is now drying outside and I’m happy to say that the trees didn’t disappear in the washing! This forest will get better and better after each wash!

I shall go now to stitch my 6th circle. Thank you very much for reading my short stories and for writing so wonderful and supporting comments! You make my day!

TEJE

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

47 thoughts on “Quilty 365: finish and new start

  1. The sunshine quilting is fantastic, Teje! What a happy forest quilt! Love the cute gingham binding. And your new project looks like so much fun. I just can’t wait to watch your progress!

    Like

  2. a fun quilt for sure – love the one you are quilting too – very playful looking

    Like

  3. I sure love your forest quilt! Such cute trees and marvelous quilting! Fantastic!

    Like

  4. Kangasmetsä-työsi on kertakaikkisen upea. Kangasmetsät on muita metsiä aurinkoisempia, siksi Hannnakin ihan reippaasti uskaltaa oikaista sen poikki terassille. Tuollainen olisi hieno lahja suunnistajalle. Ja uusi 365-työsi! Siitä tulee kerrassaan huikea, paljon hauskempi kuin yksikään peruspalleroista aplikoitu työ! Miten ihmeessä keskitkin! Olet mahdottoman luova ja näet kaikenlaisia hauskoja mahdollisuuksia siellä missä muut eivät näe mitään. Iloisia ompeluita ja rapsutuksia nelijalkaisille : )

    Like

    • Kiitos kauheasti Marle! Mistahan tuo ‘kauhea’ tulee? Vahan kuin kangas metsakin missa ei ole kuitenkaan kangasta! Yllatyin kun Hanna astui reippaasti ‘metsaan’! Ideat loytyy usein siksi etta joudun miettimaan niita kaytettavissa olevien materiaalien puitteissa. Jos voisin piipahtaa ‘paikallisessa tilkkukangas’ kaupassa hakemassa kankaita joka valissa, en tieda miten olis ideoiden kanssa…ehka parempi ettei ole liikaa valinnan varaa. Rapsutukset menivat perille, kiitos! x Teje

      Like

  5. Teje! I love your trees and the quilting. So fantastic! I am so excited to see more of your current project! That Ikea fabric is perfect for where you are going. Seeing this makes me want to drop everything and copy you! I won’t, and I don’t have the Ikea fabric…but you have piqued my interest!!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Jayne! I’m happy to hear you like these! You’re welcome to ‘copy’ and I know if you would, it would be something special in your own unique way. x Teje

      Like

  6. This is a beautiful finish. I love your forest. And your new forest looks like fun 🙂

    Like

  7. I love your Fabric Forrest and the pic with the sunlight is lovely. Looking forward to seeing more of your new project, intriguing .
    Smiles
    Kate

    Like

  8. Your stitching is wonderful! Love seeing the first quilt come together for you. Great idea for the next batch of circles. It really does look quite fun!

    Like

    • Thank you Audrey! I really enjoyed making the Fabric Forest but I’m also very happy to continue the Quilty365 with circles as the main idea is. Truth is that I needed also a little bit time to force myslef to start applique circles; not too difficult. x Teje

      Like

  9. Your Fabric Forest is so sweet, and I love the sun quilting on it. Love your new project – that looks like fun too!

    Like

  10. Love this tree quilt and the binding you picked is perfect! Your new 365 project looks like fun! How are you thinking of filling in the branches?

    Like

    • Thank you so much Serena! My idea at the moment is to add coloured circles randomly and leave some empty too. For the branches I didn’t think first anything but later got an idea with one ‘material in my stash’. Have to try if it works. x Teje

      Like

  11. I love how your forest turned out Teje…I’d like to take a walk there! And that’s such a great idea for your new Quilty365 quilt, it’s going to look so fun and colourful 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Stephie! Forest with fabrics would be quilter’s dream come true! Both of these project where fun to do but the little trees were just so cute to make. x Teje

      Like

  12. I love your forest! It turned out so cute! And I think the binding was perfect. Your next project is going to be amazing.

    Like

  13. I love your Fabric Forrest quilt finish! The hand quilting makes it extra special 🙂

    Like

  14. You keep coming up with one unique idea after another . Love the forest quilt and the first photo is way cool. The sun with rays was the perfect hand quilt embellishment. It shouldn’t be a surprise how much your handwork enhances the quilt, but it always does. You are a “wonder”! Can’t wait to see what comes of the IKEA fabric. Looks like great fun. Hugs Sonja

    Like

    • Thank you so much Sonja! It was really fun to make those little trees, searching colour from the tiny scraps and doing the easy stitching. They look great after washing; didn’t change as much as I expected. New circle project is different but also fun. This I can continue all the summer. Hugs! x Teje

      Like

  15. Teje, I love the scattered circles amongst your trees. The sun and its rays are perfect especially with that dabbled sunshine shiny on the trees, rather like nature, the naming is perfect!

    I saw that fabric at IKEA and thought about getting it for a backing. I may have to revisit the fabric love where your are heading with it.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I like both of these projects and it will be fun to see how the Ikea fabric looks when there are lots of colourful circles around. Have to try also one idea for the branches. x Teje

      Like

  16. Oi miten hauska idea tuo uusi ompeluksesi, siitä tulee ihana!

    Like

  17. Thanks for all the fun things there are to learn about the “Fabric Forest.” I enjoyed that very much. I think the idea of adding appliqued circles to the fabric is fantastic. I hope you enjoy the day and finished that 6th circle.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! Both of these project are so much fun to make. I could have done more and more trees but that would have been too big forest (even for a Finnish). x Teje

      Like

  18. Love your little tree quilt!!! And the next one is so wonderful (no Ikea near my home …Minnesota or Texas!). A question: how do you knot-off/bury(?) your threads to secure and what type of threads do you use to stitch/quilt?? A friend is using 3-strands of embroidery thread (“utility”/running stitch) and the knot is too bulky to pull through to the middle. Thanks for your time and many hugs to ALL!!!!!!

    Like

    • Thank you Doreen! Also I don’t have Ikea near my home, but I get sometimes from Athens. For the hand quilting I use usually Perle cotton no 8 and 1 knot pass the fabric (have to keep the knot with the nail when I drag so it pass and just doesn’t drag the fabric). If the fabric is quilting cotton (like Kona) knot pass easily, if the fabric is very tight woven it can be difficult. When I can, I start the stitiching from the edge so I can pass the needle between the leyers. If I use thinner thread I make double knot. Hugs! x Teje

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Good morning, I am loving your quilting, and that little mouse I saw too is too cute-I am a friend of readlemusic and she referred me to your blog. I am now following here and on your pintereset I blog at kathyinozarks.blogspot.com
    Kathy

    Like

  20. Hello dear Teje,

    That fabric forest is awesome, and you got it made so quickly! I can’t do that much of handsewing so I am taking my hat off for you, you make true family heirlooms! Happy sewing with the new project! Looks great!

    Yours,
    Mia

    Like

    • Thank you Mia for all your beautiful, sweet comments! I didn’t sew by hand until I started to quilt. After trying it I saw that I enjoy it. I don’t try to be quick but it’s just so nice that it’s hard to stop. Also it’s nice that you can hand sew any where. Happy Sunday! x Teje

      Like

  21. It’s such a pretty happy little quilt it would make me very happy to look back on it as the snippet of my year! Great models showing it off and I love the handquilting.

    Like

  22. Your forest quilt is lovely! So whimsical. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap! I am looking forward to watching your new project grow.

    Like

  23. Wow, you have so much care and consideration in you – the quilt world is lucky to have you around to make such detailed works. I on the otherhand….I can be a bit splish sploshy and I rush to get things done. 🙂 Love the trees too. 🙂

    Like

  24. I adore your circle projects, Teje, so bright and happy and fun!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

