Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Patchwork Pillow

15 Comments

Hi dear friends! I hope you are fine and enjoy the weekend! I’m busy as you can see from my flowers; bought them many days ago and still their are waiting to get proper pots.

patchwork pillow

Last weekend I left all the other works to sew something colourful. I wanted to make something for my dear friend and  thought that pillow could be the best choise.

log cabin block

For the beginning I chose carefully one cat with her favourite colours. Lots of other fabrics and colours changed their places until I ended up with these…

log cabin pillow

For the quilting I wanted something else than lines and squares and I made big heart template to surround the cat.

IMG_5418

This time I picked threads that are a little bit thinner than Perle cotton no 8. I felt that I had better colours in these.

quilting

quilting shapes

To quilt some other shapes, I used my Christmas coocie moulds. I draw the lines with disappearing marker. Mine disappears very quickly so I draw only few lines, stitch them and draw again. Remember to test your markers always before using on your project to be sure they work as you like. Wouldn’t be nice if the lines didn’t leave at all.

quilting by hand

If you use something like a plate or bowl you can mark around with the hera marker, too.

quilting with kitchen things

For the backing I used blue fabric which reminds me of Marimekko and that’s nice for my friend, too. Simple folded backing and sik sak around.

IMG_5440

I hope my friend likes this pillow and that it gives her happy thoughts.

IMG_5444

I’m joining the ‘Scraptastic Tuesday’ with Leanne and Nicky,

and I’m linking at Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

pillow coverby Teje

Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your sweet comments! I wish you wonderful spring-weekend!

TEJE

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

15 thoughts on “Patchwork Pillow

  1. Beautiful handquilting!

    Like

  2. very nice idea to use helpful things around the kitchen as your quilting stencils!! love it. I love all your flowers as well, I need to get more.

    Like

  3. Love the pillow. I like how you used different items to draw your quilting – never thought of using a cookie cutter! The heart highlights the cat beautifully and the tiny heart at the top of the larger heart is adorable. Your friend is lucky! Happy Stitching!!

    Like

  4. What a great pillow, Teje! I’m surprised that Nelli hasn’t claimed this for herself 🙂 The Laurel Burch fabric is just delightful and your quilting tricks are so cute. They make me want to get my cookie cutters out right away! (But maybe I should bake cookies before any sewing happens)

    Like

  5. Such a pretty pillow, and I love the handquilting you did! That is a lovely gift for your friend!

    Like

  6. How charming. You make every project so much better with your creative stitching . The intertwined hearts are so subtle but add that special enhancement. The blue back is an excellent choice. The three fabrics are a perfect combination. Flowers are the best– they look good no matter what pot they rest. Hugs from sunny SoCal.

    Like

  7. Your cushion has turned out lovely, you have wonderful flair. I would never have thought of using cookie cutters for stencils but it makes perfect sense, I must check my cupboards. Have a beautiful day in your lovely garden.
    With smiles
    Kate

    Like

  8. That pillow is stunning!!!!!! Clever ideas! Ros

    Like

  9. Hienot tikkaukset, ei mitkään ihan tavanomaiset! Kaunis lahja 🙂

    Like

  10. You are very clever to use the cookie cutters as templates! This is a very bright and happy gift, I’m sure your friend would love it 🙂

    Like

  11. Iloinen lahja! Varmasti tuo saajalle lämmintä mieltä. Ihailen aina noita sinun tikkauksia. Keksit kvoja tillausmalleja ihan sieltä keittiöstä vaan!

    Like

  12. A lovely gift – pretty and cheerful! Thank you for sharing about your quilt design. I think they add a playful layer to the pillow.
    ; )

    Like

  13. What a wonderful gift. I am sure it will be treasured. Great idea using cookie cutters – I had not thought of that. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

    Like

  14. Great cushion, I like the wonderful bright color fabrics you have selected and the handquilting. Lucky person that gets it! xBarbora

    Like

  15. That’s a stunning cushion!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

