Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Paper piecing hexagons

22 Comments

Hello  dear friends!

Some days ago I just had to think something to cheer me up. Hmmm … that would be colourful fabrics … what else …

hexagons

It was not a time to plan or start new project, just to sew something to enjoy.

english paper piecing

I started to cut 2.5″ squares from rainbow colours … every scrap would be different this time. Not pairs as I have used mostly for the hexagon flowers …

paper piecing hexagons

… because in fact I do have a small project in my mind.

Nero

By the way, can you shake your head as quickly as Nero? He likes to be in the living area so he was happy that I was ‘hexing’ there and I was happy to have his company … and Hanna was of course next to me.

Nero

It’s hot outside and most of the shutters are closed … perhaps that’s why these photos are a little bit misty.

hexagons

After making several hexagon, I had to look about the size. Turquoises and greens could be together …

hexagons

Unfortunately there is no space for blues … and also some reds have to go …

hexagons

I was tempted to continue adding colours and shades, but then, what this would end up? not the thing I have in my mind … so I stick to the size (about) what I was first thinking.

rainbow hexagons

Then it needs some solid pieces to clear the ‘colourness’. I really like the blue/grey  fabric! Are you guessing what this will be? I was hoping to show you more, but this goes on quite slowly … few per day. One day with coffee from a patchwork mug …

IMG_5595

… an other day with triangles, this time green but my favourite mug is with orange triangles …

IMG_5602

english paper piecing

Until now I didn’t mind that the stitches show because I feel that it may be seen that it’s hand sew. But now I thought that I could try to make more invisible stitches. I found this tutorial from Anjeanette Klinder and it seems to be working nicely. Below is still with the usual method.

hand sewing

My red/yellow piece is now finished. It’s enjoy to look at them even I wouldn’t have time to continue. But I hope this little project will be finished soon and I can use the ‘thing’ it will be.

hexagons

I shall link at my favourite linky parties:

Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Thank you for stopping by! Have a wonderful week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

22 thoughts on “Paper piecing hexagons

  1. Wow, The blocks are so small. You must be very patient to sew them all together. You do lovely work. I know the finished piece will be a feast for the eyes.
    Nero is truly the master at fast head shaking. lol He’s such a handsome fellow. Give him a hug and extra treat from me.
    I like the ‘Spinning Spokes’ quilt Nero is relaxing on. It’s one of my favorite patterns. 🙂

    Like

  2. I always love rainbows and hexies 🙂

    Like

  3. Intrigued – guessing a bag or pouch maybe? I love that you are using mickey mouse papers! So much fun in the templates and the fabrics!

    Like

  4. I have only just started to EPP this past several weeks but I found if I use the same color thread or closely matching to the fabric that my stitches barely show at all. I see you baste through your papers – I need to do that from now on as when I start to sew occasionally a paper falls out when I get to putting together big areas.

    Like

  5. I so want to start a hex quilt but I must finish a quit first, my new rule to stop all the WIPs becoming UFOs. Interesting tutorial on sewing them together. I saw a short video where the lady put the hexes face down on low tack masking tape and just whip stitched them from the back. The papers stopped the needle going through to the front and the stitches couldn’t be seen. I haven’t tried that yet either.
    Smiles
    Kate

    Like

  6. Gorgeous, colourful hexies! They are looking so nice all together…clever colour effects!
    P.S. I have just found your adorable Mrs Mouse on Pinterest, and left you a belated comment on that post dear Teje…sorry to have somehow missed it when it was written! It is just lovely!
    Happy new week to you all.
    Helen xox

    Like

  7. Lovely hexies, Teje ! I really have to try EPP method myself.

    Like

  8. Iloinen värisarja! Mukit on kyllä ihan napakympit tilkkuilijalle 🙂

    Like

  9. What pretty hexies. Glad they cheered you up!

    Like

  10. Really beautiful color combination! Love the rainbow effect.
    Greetings from Germany, Rike

    Like

  11. What a lovely, cheerful sight for me this morning on a grey and dreary day in Cornwall! Looking good Teje 🙂

    Like

  12. Love the bright colors. Beautifully done!

    Like

  13. Niin kauniita värejä! Hexagonit on kuin karkkeja. En osaisi valita kauneinta. Ihana tuo kuva Nerosta! Miltähän tuntuisi osata tuo taito? Hauskat ja niin tilkkuilijalle sopivat mukit.

    Like

  14. Beautiful! I enjoyed seeing all these lovely photos of your hand stitching!

    Like

  15. I love that Mr Mouse fabric, it is fantastic!! You put together again beautiful colors, it is going to be very happy your work with all those bright colored hexagons. I am happy to read your blog though I know you are very busy with your other work during this period. Have lovely Summer and Καλό Μήνα! x Anneli

    Like

  16. Totally Loving that riot of colours!! Love rainbows!

    Like

  17. I love EPP! I personally like to keep my stitches visible to accentuate the fact that I am hand piecing, but sometimes you do just want a clean finish!

    Like

    • Thank you for your visit and comment! I tried the other stitching but then continued my usual way. I also don’t mind even the stitches so as it makes this look hand sewn. x Teje

      Like

  18. Those are so pretty hexagon units. I look forward to seeing what they will become. Thanks for linking up with Oh Scrap!

    Like

  19. Some lovely hexies happening at your place.

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

