Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Storm at Sea quilt project

45 Comments

Hello! Here it comes … all those blues with a bit of orange …

storm at sea

The pattern “Storm at Sea” has been in my mind for a long time. My ‘american cousin’ sent me once quilt book where the pattern is; thank you again Sonja! That pattern has so many possibilities. For ideas and inspiration, look at the Pinterest.

quilt with blue and white

My  sweet little bunny was looking carefully how this goes on. She’s from Helen’s book ‘Modern Vintage Gifts’.

storm at sea

This is the basic block of ‘Storm at Sea’. I thought to make it a little bit different for this quilt. In this project I made the corner blocks more simple. It depends very much about the colours, how this pattern will look. Colours make some shapes pop out. I’m planning to make few quilts using different colour layouts and using the single or double block.

storm at sea

Blue colours are so perfect for storm at sea and I’m happy to have this Kona bundle to play with!

Kona solids

First making some blocks and starting to decide about the colours  …

economy blocks

Adding diamonds and thinking more about the colours …

diamonds

And the sun! We need sun over the Mediterranean Sea!

star quilt block

quilt project

storm at sea

Here you see how much the pattern change if we just turn it on point! I want to make this, too!

storm at sea

I try to finish this asap to start to quilt by hand! Lots of choises there too, but I think I know how I like to stitch this one.

quilting

Thank you so much for your sweet and loving comments! It’s so great to be back!

Best wishes from sun burnt Crete!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

45 thoughts on “Storm at Sea quilt project

  1. Storm at Sea has been on my list too! And after seeing yours, I may jump in sooner rather than later. I love the blues, all perfect…but the orange put it over the top for me. I’m going to be watching to see how you hand quilt this one! It’s beautiful!

    Like

    • Τηανκ υοθ … Thank you Jayne! I like the change and that means I like to make different kind of quilts, too. I haven’t made many quilts with traditional patterns and now I’m really interested about those repeating patterns. They can have so many possibilities. Blue colours are perfect for my emotions at the moment but a little bit orange is always needed! x Teje

      Like

  2. Whoa! The combinations of colors on this is outstanding. How inspiring! This has long been on my list of patterns to tackle. Beautiful!

    Like

  3. I love it already! I’ve had the pattern got a while on my list too … I’m going to enjoy watching you make this beauty … Love how you are playing with the pattern to make it your own 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Serena! I think this is perfect pattern to play with colours and layout because they make so big difference. I love the circle shape there appears. x Teje

      Like

  4. Beautiful! I really love how the colors make the blocks seem to change in size. It is a wonderful layout.

    Like

  5. Ihana malli! Minusta sinun myrskysi on rauhallisempi kuin alkuperäinen. Ja aurinko paistaa niin lämpimästi! Kaunis työ, taidan laittaa to-do -listalle. Meilläkin on tämän viikon ollut lämmintä, oikeastaan kesä ensimmäistä kertaa. Nautimme siitä!

    Like

    • Kiitos Leena! Talle pitaa viela keksia nimi kun myrsky tulee toiseen tyohon. Siella on sitten myrskyinen aallokko. Ihana etta teillakin on kesa ja toivottavasti helletta etta sitten jaksatte taas pitkan talven. x Teje

      Like

  6. I’ve always been intrigued with the Storm at Sea pattern — almost bought a precut kit from John Flynn at Houston International Quilt Festival, but felt too many little pieces for me. You have put this pattern in a new perspective. I love it and will have to jump in and make one for myself. Thanks for your inspiration!!!!

    Like

  7. It is always so fun to read your posts and see the beautiful things you are making! I”m glad you are back.

    Like

  8. This has always been a super favorite of mine and your color choices & placement truly ‘shine’!!! Following as this moves along………….

    Like

  9. I love your take on storm at sea – I’m planning a blue green one as a wedding present and love your idea for the corners – mind if I borrow it? I really like the gradient you have going with the blue shades – looks modern and classic all at the same time!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Ruth! I’m very happy to hear you like this and that you will make quilt using this pattern. You aver very welcome to make the corners like I did – surely I’m not the first one to do this. Do you have a blog or IG? I don’t see link in your comment and I would like to see your project. x Teje

      Like

  10. I had my eye on this pattern for a while too. Your rendition is lovely. Can’t wait to see it finished.

    Like

  11. I would never have guessed where you pulled the pattern from. Your version is striking.

    Like

    • Thank you Kathy! That’s the great thing in quilting that even we make same patterns, everyone makes it unique because the fabrics, colours etc. change. x Teje

      Like

  12. Looks fabulous! Love that splash of orange amongst the cool, cool blues. Enjoy sewing it together.

    Like

  13. Ah, there you go again, making another wonderful quilt. You just seemed to make it look easy when i know its not. I struggled and struggled with a project I worked on recently and almost gave up on it and gave it to the doggies to have. But then I remembered how you use white so effectively, so I added it to my mess and it saved my quilt. Thanks cousin for your inspiration. Pats to the doggies. Hugs from us

    Like

    • Thank you so much Sonja! In this the difficulty was to decide how to arrange the colours. They make so big difference and if piece is wrong, it doesn’t work at all. I’m very happy if the white helped you. It’s non stop hot here and I can’t do much. I have so many ideas and things I want to do, but the heat eats all the energy. Dogs are inside almost all the day, but I’m happy to say that they are playful even Nero is now almost 12 years and Hanna 10. Hugs to you and your puppies! x Teje

      Like

  14. Mahdottoman hieno !!!

    Like

  15. Kaunis! Kiinnostava malli, jota haluaisin kokeilla. Tuo väritys on niin ihana ja oranssi piristää muuten niin rauhallista työtä.

    Like

  16. Great project. I love how all the straight line seams give the curvy effect.

    Like

  17. Beautiful version Teje! Well done!

    Like

  18. those colours look very greek! 🙂 I was just looking at your cat post and wondering if those colours of the wall and the steps and the sky could make a nice quilt top, then I looked down and here it is!

    Like

    • Thank you Laura! I was looking also the walls and shadows in the photos and perhaps those could give me inspiration for a ‘grey’ quilt. Hugs! x Teje

      Like

  19. This is so lovely! Your colours are just gorgeous…..I love those perfect blues and the addition of the orange makes it really special!
    Helen xox

    Like

    • Thank you Helen! Blue with white is perfect and a little bit orange or red makes it even better; just the colours you also use often! x Teje

      Like

  20. I just found your blog today. The Storm at Sea quilt is lovely. Hopefully I will make one someday. I even bookmarked the post so I can refer to it.

    Sandy

    Like

    • Thank you Sandy! I’m very happy to hear you are following my blog! Storm at sea pattern is really fun and I hope to finish this small quilt in these days. I use Pinterest to collect inspiring quilts, blocks and photos to look them easily when ever I like. x Teje

      Like

  21. ‘Storm at Sea’, what great inspiration for a weaving too, and thanks for following my blog 🙂 Eloïse

    theseisles.co
    facebook.com/theseisles
    twitter.com/These_Isles
    pinterest.com/weavetheseisles

    Like

  22. I love this! I love, love how it looks in the picture where you have it “on point”!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

