Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Paper Piecing Diamonds

19 Comments

Hi Dear Friends!

paper piecing diamonds

As so often, I plan as I go. This project began with grey, Kaffe Fassett’s ‘circle’ fabric (one of my favourites) and solids. I thought to stay with cool colours but you never know. I have a main plan in my mind but wouldn’t be the first time if that change on the road.

purple

Now I shall start the other half with grey etc. and purples.

english paper piecing

Paper piecing diamonds is really fun. They are easy shape to sew quickly and there are possibilities as much as you can imagine.

english paper piecing

I wish I had few more tones of purple but this have to do now.

paper piecing diamonds

I’m a collector, can’t help that. Stones with holes and stones without holes … some of them get crochet cover. Just noticed that I haven’t made any purple crochet stone.

english paper piecing

From one of my many daily dog walks, I picked flowers for my little ‘Aalto’ vase.

flowers

… Bougainvillea, Jasmin, wild vine …

flowers

paper piecing diamonds

I’m joining my favourite linky parties:

Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Have you paper pieced diamonds? What layouts you have used?

Thank you for reading and writing!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

19 thoughts on “Paper Piecing Diamonds

  1. I love your crochet covered stone! Great idea:)

    Like

  2. I have tried a few shapes, diamonds included but that project had got tossed quickly as I decided I wasn’t going to make the project after all – now I am doing hexies and sticking with that one.

    Like

    • Thank you Karen! I think it’s nice to try different things even we wouldn’t finish all of them. Only that way we can see what we like. Perhaps you could use those diamonds etc. for something else for example applique some on a pouch, table runner etc. This diamond project doesn’t take very much time so I’m happy to finish this in near future and one day continue again the hexagons. I really liked also the octagons with small squares I used for a small table quilt. x Teje

      Like

  3. I have never paper pieced diamonds, but I certainly have a perpetual hexie project going!! I have to admit that your diamonds make me want to give them a try.
    xx, Carol

    Like

  4. lovely fabrics and I like the design – how big are the diamonds?

    Like

  5. Beautiful diamond colors and flowers 🌺

    Like

  6. This is beautiful ! Love the beautiful array of colors and shades in this.

    I have paper pieced some diamonds, yes, to make stars as part of a border on a quilt with hexie flowers and other elements. It’s in the hoop now.

    Like

  7. Love your color palette in those diamonds. I’ve played with paper piecing hexies, but that project has been stalled for a few years.

    Like

  8. Beautiful color palette! I have recently gotten into paper piecing and love the fact that it is so portable! Diamonds are actually going to be my next project!

    Like

  9. Lovely! I like that you used solid colors next to the beautiful but very busy fabric. I love your color schemes. Beautiful pictures too!

    Like

  10. Diamonds are fun to make! Easy and they always make interesting designs. I cannot wait to see this finished. The purples and blues with Kaffe are gorgeous! And I too love your crochet rock!

    Like

  11. I love your fabrics, especially the Kaffe itty bitty one! Look forward to seeing how this progresses.

    Like

  12. great selection of your fabrics. I haven’t done diamonds like that as I much prefer machine stitching, though I won’t say never…

    Like

  13. Voi mikä ihanuus tuosta käsinompelusta on tulossa! Kivi on tosi kaunis!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

