Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

{Dream Catcher} new project

16 Comments

ow Hello hello! Great to see you! Now I shall tell you about my latest idea which I don’t yet if it is possible to make (for me) or not. I hope to make the test block today. One day when puppies were sleeping, I draw this for the ’30 Days of Quilt Design’ challenge …

30 Days of Quilt Design

For me it looked *** and when I asked from hb what he see’s here, he said the same: dream catcher!

quilt challenge

When I coloured this, I thought the centre could be like blue night and then more colourful dreams around.

Then I didn’t think if this could become a quilt. I really liked how this and started to think how … and in the morning I woke up with a clear plan. Cutting with tamplates and sewing by hand the centre piece. Surrounding pieces should be possible to sew by machine. There are some curves but I’m not affraid. This year I have challenged myself to make curves.

quilt design

An other time when puppies where sleeping, I draw the plan on a big firm paper.

quilt design

I draw it also on a ‘baking’ paper so I have the design for later use after I have cut the templates from the firm paper.

quilt plan

I gave ‘name’ with number and letter for each piece, in the order I shall sew them (as it was foundation paper piecing).

quilt patchwork plan

Then it was time to think about fabrics. I was suggested to use earthy colours. Hmmm did I have any in my stash? I had thought to use blue solids for the centre and other solid for the around areas. But perhaps I’m stucked to solids because of the diamonds and could use now some prints.

fabric bundles

I really don’t know … my stash is limited …

 

quilting fabrics

… and even I really like this bundle, it’s not exactly what I want now.

dream catcher

I like the different tones of blue for the centre so I trust my istinct and stick to them. Perhaps they don’t need to be all solids to get softer look.

I have cut the templates and created special file for them. I hope to sew a test block this evening to see if this can be made in real or just in my dreams.

Thank you for stopping by and thank you for your lovely comments! Have you dreamed about quilt you were not sure if it can come true and then made it?

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

16 thoughts on “{Dream Catcher} new project

  1. Wow! What an artist you are ♥

    summerdaisycottage.blogspot.com

    Like

  2. Oh, Teje, I just love how your mind–and your skills–works! So glad that your house full of puppies decide to take naps–but I know that these naps are usually after long stretches of crazy activity that is loud and so much fun! You’re a great puppy mommy 🙂

    Like

  3. I like the dream catcher! How big a block will this be? When I see curvy, busy blocks like this, I think Paper Piecing. I’ll be interested in seeing how it comes out!

    Like

  4. Great plan! Love this design and keen to see its progress. Have find!

    Like

  5. Great project! I love your design and your fabrics. Enjoy 🙂

    Like

  6. It’s a beautiful design and I like the blue center, actually I like the way you colored the sketch – bright colors give it the jazz! Looking forward to seeing your progress.

    Like

  7. This will look lovely, Teje.
    Have you checked out Kitty at the Night Quilter’s recent tutorial for sewing curves? It might help with a project like this.

    Like

  8. Keep at it, and you just might have a quilt! Thanks for linking to Finished or Not Friday.

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

