Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

I love patchwork!

44 Comments

Hi dear friends! My current project made me say it loud ‘I LOVE PATCHWORK’! Take colourful scraps to start and let them lead you! It’s really fun to see how each new piece change the look.

star

It’s also nice to see the block crispy pressed and trimmed.

star block

Adding the corners change the ‘big’ white square; this time I didn’t want too much white.

star block

And the final touch is to add border around. This Essex linen is one of my favourites! You can find it from Judith’s etsy shop. 

star quilt block

This is the pair for the star. These were so asking to be mini quilts!

scrappy quilt block

But I am making pouch and won’t change my mind this time.

quilting

All the pieces are now quilted and I do hope to finish this soon because I want to see how it will look.

Because I really like this star block with bright solids, white and dark background, I thought to draw a quilt plan. I’m late with my ’30 Days of Quilt Design’, so it was good to catch the notebook and colours again. Even it was late night I enjoyed making this. I couldn’t plan yet how to make the little centre squares. Have you done something like this or seen some where how to do the easily?

quilt design #17

About the Quilt Design challenge: I have started to make blocks for the ‘Dream Catcher’ and fortunately it works well. More about that next time.

quilt block

star
I’m joining my favourite linky parties:

Scraptastic Tuesday,  Fabric Tuesday, Sew Cute Tuesday, Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread Thursday, Whoomp There It Is, Fabric frenzy Friday, Oh Scrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Follow Nero’s Post in Instagram  (all my quilt designs and everyday fun)

Thank you for your visit and for your sweet comments! Have a lovely, patchful week!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

44 thoughts on “I love patchwork!

  1. Your blocks look really great, they are so colorfull, I like them 🙂

    Like

  2. These are gorgeous blocks – I loved them just with the white but then when you added the grey I loved them even more – does that even makes sense?!!! To make the little centre squares could you not just add white HST corners to the grey border?

    Like

    • Thank you Abigail! That’s the fun with patchwork! I loved the colourful star on white but I had to continue it and then I really liked the dark corners and then I loved the dark border! Thank you for the tip to use the hst cornes. I think I go with that because I like to continue with this pattern. x Teje

      Like

  3. Kauniita, kauniita tähtiä! Kirkkaat, yksiväriset kankaat ja harmaa yhdessä – upea kontrasti. Tykkään tuosta tähtimallista! Hyvää ompeluviikkoa!

    Like

  4. Love the Brights! Love the Star! Love the Linen and Love the Wonky Patchwork! Let me just say I love your post today!!

    Like

  5. the blocks are really fun and with such great colors

    Like

  6. Your stars are lovely. I made several wonky stars for my thre Gweenie inspired quilts using the flip and sew method that you cut a square or rectangle then add the triangle to the piece, iron it back and then square it up the piece. I use a strip of fabric rather than individual triangles. No trying to match the angles so some were about the same length other short and fat. With mine I I chose to do mine in two colours. But you could do them scrappy. I love your random pieced centres. Have fun!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I think this would be great way to make the squares / corners. They could be in one colour or even randomly any colour. Have to continue with this pattern. Have a lovely day! x Teje

      Like

  7. They look great and will make a lovely bag

    Like

  8. The blocks are lovely and when I saw the star I immediately thought it needed to be a quilt! Will be looking forward to that one! And I think you just need to repeat what you did with your dark corners – either with HSTs in each corner or the stitch and flip square in the corner as with a snowball block. Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday.

    Like

  9. I love these blocks! The colors grab me…big surprise! I really liked the first picture with the white corners, and then you magically changed it up with the grey…which I love!

    Like

  10. Kauniita blokkeja kaikki! Tähtimalli toimii aina!

    Like

  11. I love the star block, looks really nice! Have fun planning around for the pattern 🙂

    Like

  12. Beautiful! Just like stained glass!!

    Like

  13. Gorgeous improv blocks Teje. I love the bright colours on the white backgrounds, but your grey borders took them to a new dimension.

    Like

  14. I really like the combination of improv centres with crisp surrounds a lot. The white and then the darker border sets them off beautifully.

    Like

  15. Would your border layout work if you turned everything so it was squares on point? Hmmm. Not sure. I love the colours and ideas.

    Like

  16. Lovely blocks and an interesting layout design, like knotted rope.

    Like

  17. Love your blocks and your quilt idea! I was going to suggest doing the squares as flippy corners, too. If you did it free-style, it would echo the wonky piecing in the stars.

    Like

  18. I can’t wait to see your pouches, Teje. Those colourful blocks both look fabulous framed in grey!

    Like

  19. There’s something so satisfying about a neatly trimmed block! I love your colour choices, and that grey is perfect!

    Like

  20. I like your blocks, very modern and bright. Great finishes.

    Like

  21. I just left a comment on your old blog, but then I found your new blog! I really enjoy your work! ~karen

    Like

  22. I love this amazing block and enjoyed seeing how it developed every step of the way.

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

