Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Blogger’s Quilt Festival: After the Storm

65 Comments

Vof vof and welcome to Mediterranean! You just landed on Crete, beautiful island of Greece! Me Hanna, I’m your hostes during your visit. I know that you flew here to see the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’, which is hosted and organized by Amy Ellis at ‘Amy’s Creative Side’ so without further words, lets go to see the quilts …

After the Storm quilt by Teje

‘After the Storm’ is our entry to the Small Quilts category.

storm at sea quilt project

We started this quilt with a beautiful fat quarter bundle of blues and greys, Kona solids. Long time favourite pattern Storm at Sea was just perfect for this project.

storm at sea

As we live on one of the most sunny islands, sun shines often on our quilts.

After the Storm quilt top

If you like to read more about this process, click HERE.

After the Storm quilt top

Me Hanna, I’m always helping in the sewing studio and here I start to quilt by paw. It was still really hot day and we stayed only for a short while outside. Then there was no sign of storm yet …

Hanna and quilting

First I quilted around the sun but later I changed my mind. When I was quilting the first circles, I realized that it looks better if there are only circles.

hand quilting

For “custom’s recuest” I changed also the centre to look more sun and not so much star.

hand quilting

I named this quilt ‘After the Storm’ because of the storm at sea pattern and because the time was really ‘after the storm’ in our life.

After the Storm

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: ‘After the Storm

Design: Teje Karjalainen

Block pattern: storm at sea

Size: 30″x 30″ (76 x 76 cm)

Technics: pieced by machine, quilted by hand

Category: Small Quilts

binding

Looks like this quilt had more changes than usually, because also the binding had to be changed. First fabric didn’t behave well and I did it again with a fabric that looks like little waves.

storm at sea

One day I want to make this pattern so that the blocks are on point! Also the look change quite much depending how the colours are placed.

We went for a drive yesterday to take sea view photos … ‘After the Storm’ we said … in fact it was before the storm …

storm at sea

I’m really happy that the strong wind didn’t take my quilt! It was a ‘shoot in a second’ to take the photos. No way to plan well about the background etc. We were really up and the road was a serpentine … when I turned right, what I saw …

goat

She is at the edge of terrible high place and I couldn’t go very near to take photo to show you the deepness. On my leftside was walking some one else …

goat

To have a small idea about how high we are, look the little cars down at the end of the road.

Crete

Until now I never had problem with high places, driving next to the edge of narrow road high on the mountains, but yesterday I didn’t have ‘stomach’ to do that and we returned back from the first curve. If you have the currage to go down, follow this video … after you park the car, you still need to walk to reach the beach down.

‘After the storm’ was in fact today. Early in the morning we woke up to rain and thunder, first since April! Wow, it was great! Gorgeus smell and cool wind! After few hours sky cleared up and sun was shining again.

pomegranate

Our other entry is ‘STRAWBERRY CAKE’ for the Scrappy Quilts category. Nero is telling about that quilt.

ALL OUR ENTRIES:
‘NERO’S GARDEN’ (animals from Nero’s garden) – spring 2011
‘ORANGE STONES’ – autumn 2011
‘MY DREAM QUILT’ – spring 2012
‘BUTTERFLIES’ (applique) – autumn 2012
‘BABY STARS’ – spring 2013
‘HAPPY DAYS’ – spring 2013
‘FANTASY FOREST’ 1. prize in ‘Forest QAL’ (paper pieced) – autumn 2013
‘KIDS GAME’ 2013 – autumn 2013
‘TURN THE TIME’ – autumn 2014
‘MILKY HEARTS’ – spring 2015
‘PAPER DOLLS’ – autumn 2015
‘BUNNY’S FRIENDS’ – autumn 2015
‘MOUSE MEETING’ – spring 2016 Instagram
‘NOELIA’S QUILT’ – spring 2016 Instagram
‘FABRIC FOREST’ wip – spring 2016 Instagram
‘AFTER THE STORM’ – autumn 2016
‘STRAWBERRY CAKE’ – autumn 2016
After the Storm quilt by Teje
Thank you all for coming for a visit to Greece! I was happy to show you a little bit around here and to tell you about our quilt. Lets continue now all together our visit in the ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’! Isn’t it just amazing that we can visit quilters around the world! There are many our friends and always we meet new talented quilters showing their beautiful quilts! Best place to have fun with quilters and to find new inspiarions!
SUNNY WISHES! 

HANNA, NERO, NELLI & TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

65 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival: After the Storm

  1. A beautiful, special quilt, Teje! You make the most delightful hostess and I’ve enjoyed my visit and learning about the making of your quilt and seeing the loveliness of Crete. What a treat it always is to share in your creative adventures! Thank you so much.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Katherine! I’m happy you enjoyed your visit! I try to post more also ‘tours’ and not only quilting but it’s not easy to leave my studio! There is always something sweet as strawberry waiting for me. x Teje

      Like

  2. Lovely. This one caught my eye from the thumbnail, then I saw it was from the same nice person who commented on my Swoon. Crete is such an interesting place, with the Minotaur and all!

    Like

  3. this quilt is stunning and I love the photos- thanks

    Like

  4. Your quilt is gorgeous! The circle quilting really is a great choice for this one.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Leanne! I like the circle shape that this pattern creates and wanted to make that show better. Also the circle ‘spreads’ the sunshine. In Finnish we say wheel of sun but I don’t know if there is a word like that in English. x Teje

      Like

  5. I’m so glad the storm is over for all of you. What wonderful photos of Crete–I watched the video and I don’t think I could drive that road with NO guardrails, even if the beach is gorgeous! I love that this quilt is off center–it really makes it so unique. Your colors and your handquilting–spectacular as uaual. Love to all of you!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Karen! This pattern is really good and I want to make it again. Then perhaps in point or making the waves more clear. I’m glad you took the trip (by video). It’s a special place. x Teje

      Like

  6. I love your quilt! The pattern is very effective, and the hand quilting is beautiful. Well done.

    Like

  7. This After The Storm turned out gorgeous. Love your hand quilting.

    Like

  8. Truly a lovely creation. Thanks for being such a gracious hostess Teje.

    Like

  9. Absolutely stunning, I think this is one of my favorite takes on the storm at sea pattern. The little sun stands out so well against the blues. And the hand quilting! Gorgeous! Love the pictures of your photoshoot guests, goats are too funny! 🙂

    Like

  10. This is so beautiful1

    Like

  11. I LOVE this quilt, Teje. Good luck in the festival 🙂

    Like

  12. I love this little quilt, the colours and the star that became a Sun, and most effective – the circular quilting. I experienced the storm too as I live near Chania but I don’t know the road to the beach. We are lucky to live in such a beautiful place.

    Like

  13. Your quilt is lovely!! Fun way to play with colors on a traditional block.

    Like

  14. Your quilt is wonderful Teje and the photos are amazing! I really enjoy seeing the local scenery.

    Like

  15. Erityisen ihan työ!!! Aivan super hienot tikkaukset, tykkään, paljon 🙂

    Like

  16. Teje – this is one of my favorite things you made! It’s absolutely lovely. The orange paired with blue really pops, and your hand quilting is stunning. Beautiful work!!

    Like

  17. What a fabulous quilt!! Love all the personal design choices you made!

    Like

  18. I am so happy you entered this one! I really love it! The orange just jumps out and as always your quilting is amazing!

    Like

  19. Myrskyn jälkeen on maagisen kaunis! Olet onnistunut vangitsemaan siihen mahavan tunnelman! Tapaammehan pian?

    Like

  20. Oh Hanna!!! I love your Storm at Sea design and that you changed the star to look more like the sun. And the quilting is beautifully done! Thank you so much for sharing all the details and for taking us along for the photo shoot!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Lorna! This was interesting project; a little bit different than our usuals. Looking for the try this pattern again in a different way. x Teje

      Like

  21. Another beautiful quilt Teje, and that hand quilting is stunning! Thanks for sharing some wonderful sights of Crete.

    Like

    • Thank you Louisa! Before I started to quilt, we did much more trips around the beautiful Crete and Greece. I try to share more often photos because I live in a unique place. x Teje

      Like

  22. Very pretty! I like the circle quilting and how you turned the star into a sun! Great idea.

    Like

  23. Moikka Hannna! Tämä on ehdottomasti yksi kauneimmista töistä! Värit, joita rakastan, jotain pyöreää, joka tuo aina mieleen pallon! Ihan täydellinen. Mikään muu tikkaus ei olisi tehnyt työstä kolmiulotteista kuin tuo ympyrä. Aurinkoisia päiviä!

    Like

    • Kiitos hurjasti Marle! Minakin tykkaan kovasti ja ympyroita on kiva tikkailla. Aurinko paistaa vaikka valilla oli jo ihania pilviakin. Tuulee raikkaasti joten lahdenpa kavelylle. Hanna

      Like

  24. Beautiful work! I’m inspired! Thanks for posting the process. So nice to see and hear other people’s thinking as they grow a quilt.

    Like

  25. I love Storm at Sea quilts but have never made one, you might have inspired me to do so!!

    Like

  26. Your quilt is gorgeous. The piecing, quilting, and color selection are great. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  27. So beautiful. I love this interpretation of the storm at sea design. Great colour placement and so nicely quilted!

    Like

  28. This is one of my all time favourite quilts – I think everything about it is stunning, from your choice of colours, to the sun, and the quilting. Beautiful.

    Like

  29. Beautiful quilt! Thanks for sharing your process. Love the change to sun from star!

    Like

  30. Love this quilt. Your big stitching really brought it alive!

    Like

  31. That turned out so beautifully and I really like the hand quilting too, unexpected but perfect for it at the same time!

    Like

  32. I love this quilt and your pictures are stunning!

    Like

  33. It is so lovely Teje. I loved reading your thoughts and progress, how it was developed. The windblown pic is great.

    Like

  34. Beautiful! Storm at Sea is one of my favorite quilt blocks and the colors you used are amazing! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  35. This is a lovely little quilt. I’ve always wanted to make a storm at sea quilt and a mini seems like a good idea. What a beautiful part of the world you live in!

    Like

  36. Love this one!! You have made this very unique

    Like

  37. Wonderful idea and execution! I’ve always wanted to try my hand at the Storm at Sea.

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

