Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Trunk Show – My Favourite Quilts

26 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Welcome to my Trunk Show! Soma from ‘Whims and Fancies’ is hosting an online Trunk Show where we can show quilts! Here are the quilts I chose. Each quilt has a story and these are my favourites. I hope you enjoy the tour even you may have seen these before.

‘PUPPY PORTRAITS is one of my favourites! I love dogs and when I saw Lorna’s pattern with puppies I knew I have to do that! I participated the Blog Hop and made portraits for my puppies. Every puppy has a name and small story. Some of the puppies are hand pieced. I was very lucky and this quilt brought to me bundle of blue/grey Kona solids. (Used for example for ‘After the Storm’ quilt). PS. Lorna has add now ‘Paw Print’ blocks for this free pattern.

'Puppy Portraits' by Teje

‘Puppy Portraits’ by Teje

‘TRAVELLING BIRD’ is a mini quilt. I made this quilt to send a quilt book on a travel. First stop was my friend Judith. The idea was that each quilter reads the book and sends it further with something quilted. Judith made fantastic bag and sent the book again, but unfortunately after that the journey didn’t continue.

'Traveling Bird' by Teje

‘Travelling Bird’ by Teje

‘BUNNY’S FRIENDS’ was a special custom order. I enjoyed this project very much even I was also nervous if they would like it. I made first the cute bunny from Kristy’s pattern and the story began. Bunny tells the story how the quilt grows and how she had even some little helpers. This quilt looked so perfect on my sewing studio’s wall that it was hard to apart.

'Bunny's Friends' by Teje

‘Bunny’s Friends’ by Teje 

‘PIC NIC ON THE BEACH’. This quilt was inspired by the ruler ‘Hex N More’ by Julie. I had just received the ruler so I was really excited and thought to make a quilt with all the possibilities this ruler gives. Having those beautiful, summer breeze fabrics, I started to make a big puzzle. This quilt was also one of the most enjoyable projects I have made!

Pic Nic on the Beach by Teje

‘Pic Nic on the Beach’ by Teje

‘PAPER DOLLS’ was custom order for a sweet girl. I thought this was the perfect project to use the fabric that I had treasured for a while.

'Paper Dolls' by Teje

‘Paper Dolls’ by Teje

Looks quite clearly that I like animals and children quilts with happy colours! But lets continue our Trunk Show …

Online Quilt Trunk Show | Whims And Fancies

… with few other kind of quilts.

‘AFTER THE STORM reached to be one of the viewers’ choises in the latest ‘Blogger’s Quilt Festival’ and got 5th most votes! Wow I was so amazed and happy! It’s made with Kona solids and the pattern is Storm at Sea. This pattern appears with single or double diamonds. I made this quilt to calm down from a storm in life.

'After the Storm' by Teje

‘After the Storm’ by Teje

‘SWIRLS AND STARS’ from men’s shirts are special to me. I thank hb’s shirts for starting to quilt! I really liked the fabrics and colours and thought often how nice patchwork they would make. After many quilts I finally made these two quilts with his shirts. Fabrics are really good quality (not easy to hand quilt) but strong enough for our furry friends. I have given these to Nero and Hanna so I can enjoy watching them instead of some old blankets.

'Swirls' from men's shirts by Teje

‘Swirls’ from men’s shirts by Teje

'Stars' from men's shirts by Teje

‘Stars’ from men’s shirts by Teje

‘SUMMER WINE’ is paper pieced with octagons. Little white squares are sewn without papers, just folded the edges. I made this quilt during the hot summer days and my favourite song ‘Summer Wine’ was in my mind. This is small, soft quilt and I use it often on my sidetable. Some of the fabrics are vintage pieces and some from friends.

'Summer Wine' by Teje

‘Summer Wine’ by Teje

‘FANTASY FOREST’ is my most special quilt. I hope that one day I shall make an other quilt, different, but as dear as this quilt. This quilt was part of the Forest QAL and won the 1st prize! I had never joined quilt along neither had done foundation paper piecing. When I saw the Woodpecker, I was totally sold! I thought this bird I shall make no matter what it takes. And as you can see I fell in love with paper piecing! In that time my fabric stash was smaller and it was real challenge to choose the fabrics and colours. On the other hand I feel that made this quilt more fun, creative and brave. If I had more fabrics, I may have chosen more traditional, safe colours for the animals and this quilt wouldn’t look so happy and alive.

'Fantasy Forest' by Teje

‘Fantasy Forest’ by Teje

Thank you Soma for this Trunk Show Quilt event! You made me search my quilts and that was fun. Many of my quilts give me ideas for new quilt designs! Also they give me inspiration which I have missed lately.  I realized that I need a new, long term, relaxing quilt project and in fact I have already picked the fabrics. Today I shall have a slow sewing Sunday … making diamonds from my new jelly roll: ‘Grand Canal’ by Kate Spain!

Thank you for visiting! I hope you found inspiration for your quilting! Enjoy your visit at the Trunk Show!

I’m joining the weekly linky parties, too. See the buttons on my sidelist.

TEJE

PS. MY QUILT TRUNK IS NOW NELLI’S BED …

Nelli and pillow

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

26 thoughts on “Trunk Show – My Favourite Quilts

  1. Oh Teje, what wonderful quilts! I love them all, but if I had to pick a favorite , it would be the forest animals. I’m glad you didn’t have more fabric choices as the unusual shades make it unique. Of course the puppie quilt is just the best and the paper doll must have made a little girl really happy. One that isn’t here that I also love is Nero’s Garden Friends. The traveling bird was such a neat idea, what a shame it didn’t continue on its journey. Hugs From rainy sunny SoCal.

    Like

    • Thank you so much dear Sonja! This was very good change to look back, organize photos and to get new energy. I like ‘Nero’s Garden Friends’ but it’s not so well done as I would want now. I should start to make new friend’s of Nero, there are so many of them. Hugs from from half cloudy and ‘chilly’ Crete. It’s so and so if I like to put the heating on or not. x Teje

      Like

  2. Forgot to say I like your new photo . 😃

    Like

  3. All of your quilts make smile! You use such beautiful colour combinations and I love your selection of designs. Thank you for sharing your trunk show 🙂

    Like

  4. Ihanat työt. Toivon että voisin tulla käymään jos matkani sattuisi Kreetaan. Jag får inspiration när jag ser dina härliga kviltar. Hälsningar från Södertälje / Sverige.

    Like

  5. You are so talented! Loved the show

    Like

  6. Teje, this is a wonderful look back at your beautiful work! I even discovered some quilts I had never seen–that were before I found quilting and you! Now I feel like I have a dear friend in Greece who inspires me to take chances and make things that speak to me. And your love of animals and nature shines through in so much that you do. These are difficult and frightening days in the U.S.–your trunk show was just what I needed to lighten my heart and smile. Thank you!

    Like

  7. I just love looking at your wonderful work Teje! Do you know, if you asked me to pick a favourite, I wouldn’t be able to as they are all so lovely. Your colour choices are always just perfect! Ros

    Like

  8. So many beautiful quilts! The Fantasy Forest is especially spectacular, and the Bunny’s Friends is just whimsical and fun. Enjoyed looking at the quilts in your trunk show!

    Like

  9. I love After the Storm, and your beautiful cat!

    Like

  10. Very beautiful quilts and nice trunk show, Teje! After the Storm was my favorite and got my vote. Fantasy forest is amazing. That’s quite a hard project to start paper piecing.

    Like

  11. Hi Teje, you can be really proud of your work, all the quilts have their own “personality”. Thanks for sharing! x Barbora

    Like

    • Thank you Barbora! It’s fun to see how most of the quilters have they own style. Often seeing posts in my reader, I know from who they are before reading the name! x Teje

      Like

  12. I love your work. Each quilt is so unique. I could never pick a favorite. You have a very special skill in creating eye catching art.
    xx, Carol

    Like

  13. Thank you for sharing! Your use of color is inspiring. Bright quilts make me happy on on snowy cold day in western New York.

    Like

    • Thank you Sandra! I’m happy to hear that my colours cheer up your day! I thought perhaps I’m using different palets in different seasons but now I can see that I need happy colours all around the year! x Teje

      Liked by 1 person

  14. All of them are so unique and special! You are so productive and lot of inspiration! It is very difficult to choose one favorite, I love the Puppies and after the storm and paper dolls and fantasy forest, you see I don’t have a favorite one, I love all your quilts! Great Trunk Show!

    Like

  15. Beautiful and wonderful 🙂 So pretty ❤

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

