Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Hexagon Fabric Basket and Scrap Tree

26 Comments

Hi Dear Friends! Good Month! It’s December and it’s SNOWING!

Hexagon Fabric Basket

I have been waiting to see the snow on my blog and yesterday it was snowing also in my sewing studio!

img_7716

Outside was a storm! So much rain and wind that I had to force Nero and Hanna to go out. Big flower pots fell down. Just now tiny piece of sun appeared between the dark clouds. Temperature has fallen to +10C which is quite cold here. With the cold sea wind it feels the same as +2C in Finland.  We had a lovely morning walk with puppies in the fresh, cool air. After feeling too hot many months, we love this weather, but I understand if you feel the opposite.

But lets get back to the scraps. Last time I showed you a sneaky peaky … no one tried to guess what it was …

scraps

It’s the inside bottom of the hexagon fabric basket. During the summer I was sewing these hexagons and from the beginning I knew I want to make fabric basket where the hexagons are connected around. I was hard not to make a table runner with that rainbow piece but I stayed in my first plan.

A while ago it was like a summer …

hexagons

… then the leaves turned yellow and orange …

sewing studio decor by Teje

… my scrap tree looked like wind was blowing and throwing the autumn leaves …

fabric vase

… and the colourful leaves were on the ground until it started to snow …

scrap tree

If you like to hear how all this happened:

I made the hexagon basket / vase. I liked the idea to put inside glass jar or vase and fill it with flowers. This time there wasn’t anything interesting outside to pick, so I thought to make a drif wood ‘tree’. But how to decor that tree? Scraps! I’m not sure, but perhaps this idea started from the ribbon tree that Marle made! I thought I could make that with selvages!

Here is how I made the tree …

img_7665

I put stones on polyester wadding to hold the tree. I took the jar with trims … did you just throw them away?! Sorry!

scrap project for kids

This is perfect project to make with kids!

fun with scraps

scrap projects

This can be also seasonal decoration. I love my green lights but they made my tree look like it’s spring and Easter. So I made a wish for snow …

img_7709

 

And now I have a snowy tree in my sewing studio! For the winter season I like the look of these plain branches and stones in the glass, so my new hexagon basket will store seasonal coodies.

hexagon fabric basket

If you like to make Christmas, or other, fabric basket, look my tutorial HERE. I show you how it’s easy to make any size fabric basket.

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely comments! Hanna sends you kisses! She was really happy to hear you enjoyed reading her post about the knitting lesson she gave to her friend Miss Moose!

I shall link at ‘Needle and Thread Thursday’

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

26 thoughts on “Hexagon Fabric Basket and Scrap Tree

  1. I LIKE that fabric basket. The tree is such a cute idea. BUT I don’t thank you for reminding me that the snow is on it’s way here too!!
    xx, Carol

    Like

    • Thank you Carol! I understand you very well. Because we don’t have snow here, I have rosy memories how beautiful it is and don’t think the freezing coldness. I’m happy I have ‘fiber’ snow! Have a great weekend! x Teje

      Like

  2. Your tree is delightful! And this is why it’s so hard to throw away anything from quilting (confessing to saving the empty white plastic thread spools)….

    Like

    • Thank you Sandra! I save them too! … but did I just throw them away? Do you have any good idea for them? If they just were wooden, we could make nice decorations etc. Happy weekend! x Teje

      Like

  3. Teje, i just love the wonderful things you create with the most uninspiring (to me) materials! I always look forward to your Christmas decorations 🙂

    Like

  4. I love your trees, Teje! They are both beautiful!

    -Soma

    Like

  5. Such pretty photos Teje – I love your design wall, trees and hexagon fabric basket! Thanks for the tutorial – I’m definitely going to make one (or more) of these!

    Like

  6. Thanks for sharing your great decoration ideas! Next time I shouldn’t throw away all those trimms. xBarbora

    Like

    • Thank you barbora! I had saved some very thin trimmings just for decor in a big jar. I thought that tiny scraps would do for this tree, but finally those trims where better. Is it cold there? Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

      Liked by 1 person

  7. The tree with the scraps is wonderful Teje! Yet another idea for our tiny tiny scraps! Love the hexagon basket. It would certainly brighten any table…especially in the dead of winter!

    Like

    • Thank you Jayne! Looks like every scrap can be useful! Just remembered that I still haven’t tried that woven thing – your fantastic idea! Have a lovely weekend! x Teje

      Like

  8. So beautiful Teje! I love the hexagon basket and the little tree, and your colours in all these pictures are just a delight! Keep cosy!
    Helen xox

    Like

    • Thank you Helen! It looks very cosy at our home with lots of little lights, candles and sheep furs around. I love this season! Happy weekend and December! x Teje

      Like

  9. Onpa kiva heksagon-purnukka! Maljakolla on uudet vaatteet, noitahan voisi tehdä aina kattauksen mukaan erilaisia. Hyvää viikonloppua!

    Like

    • Kiitos Leena! Oikein hyvin, ja jos tama on seinaa vasten niin voi kaantaa aina vuodenaikaan sopivan varin. Seuraavan teen matalamman ja leveamman vaikka neule projectille. Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

      Like

  10. I love the hexie basket.
    Here, +10C is quite cold too.
    Every year, I collect dry branches, put them in a vase and peg our Christmas cards on them, along with a few ornaments. In our house, they are called the ‘Christmas sticks’, but that is not the proper name for them. Maybe I should add scraps this year!

    Like

    • Thank you! Your idea is fantastic! I can imagine how beautiful your decoration with cards and ornaments look. Few scraps wouldn’t harm! I pinned yesterday ornaments/tags made with piece of felt and fussy cut scrap! x Teje

      Like

  11. Ihana jouluinen puu! Taidanpas kokeilla tuota, jos vain löydän hyvän oksan. Kiitos linkkauksesta, nyt on joulupuiden sesonkiaika. Tuo kangaskoppa on kaunis, katson tutorialin. Mukavaa viikonloppua!

    Like

    • Κιιτοσ … siis kiitos kovasti Marle! Kylla varmaan loydat Sulon kanssa sopivia oksia ja voin kuvitella kuinka kiva tama olis kuusen oksastakin! Haluan tehda puun sinun idean mukaan mutta kun ei ole paljon nauhoja niin kokeilen hulpioilla. Hyvaa viikonloppua! x Teje

      Like

  12. Very nice! Thanks for linking up to Finished or Not Friday.

    Like

  13. Have enjoyed catching up on your latest blogposts…. and they have all filled me with joy … fresh and happy ideas… happy new sewing year to you ❤️️

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

