Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Thoughts for the 2017

17 Comments

Vof vof, vof dear friends! It’s me Hanna here today to tell you about our thoughts and plans for the new year 2017.

Hanna and her garden quilt

I thought to start with this colourful photo. This quilt is ‘Hanna’s Garden’ and it’s like me. I’m happy, I laugh and sing a lot (if there is no camera near). My wish for the new year is Happiness and Health for everyone!

Hanna

Yvonne from ‘Quilting Jet Girl’ made me think about plans and goals for the new year 2017. Visit her linky party!  Pat Sloan made me think about ‘my word’.

I knew right away, what my word of the year should be: it’s FOCUS. I would love to have word FUN or STORY (like Pat) but I know I need to choose FOCUS. I have to start to focus better because if we have thousands of things in our minds it’s difficult to get something done. But I won’t forget FUN or STORY! We need to have fun in our lives! And I love stories! I love to read stories and I enjoy writing small stories. Every quilt is a story and if the quilt itself doesn’t have clear story at least it’s sure there is a story about the idea, inspiration, reason etc. Sometimes there maybe a story written on it …

img_7897

About plans and goals … I’m not for goals but I do make plans all the time. And I like to set challenges. Last year my quilting challenge was curves. As the year went very strangely and wasn’t very progressive, I shall continue with cureves also this year. An other challenge I like to set to myself, is to be more improvising and creative.

dream catcher

In autumn Rachel challenged us with: ’30 Days of Quilt Design’! I really enjoyed making quilt plans and illustrating my designs! There are several I would like to make and hope to have time for that. My favourite design is ‘Dream Catcher’ and I have made small beginning on the design wall.

quilt design

An other favourite is this one with curves. Except the curves, I want to make more foundation paper piecing. That is something I love and really miss.  Hope to make patterns of my own drawings.

quilt design

More curves … and improvising! And more colours! You know for me it’s all about colours!

quilt design

But it’s not all about curves. I really love repeating patterns. Triangles are my favourites and with those you can make what ever you imagine! Stars are always Stars! And wouldn’t they be gorgeus on a dark night sky!

quilt design

I’m just finishing one quilt and shall show it soon. After that the ‘main’ quilt project will be the ‘Grand Canal’ with diamonds. That is really enjoyable project!

Grand Canal

There has been something in my mind for a long time and I hope to do make that/them/those this year.

I shall join ‘The Honey Pot Bee’ by Molli Sparkle. That will be fun and exciting! Queens and Kings has been announced!

diamonds

My etsy shop is waiting for more stuff … selves are very empty after the Christmas. Lots of photographing for the shops is waiting, too.

img_6297

 

Soon we shall have puppy friends visiting us and you can guess that we shall have fun and play a lot! If some one can catch us with the camera, I shall show you photos!

Hanna

Thank you for visiting and thank you for your sweet comments! I hope you join me and Nero also the next year! We all wish you sparkling, super special new year 2017!!!

Nero

Hugs and Kisses!

HANNA, NERO, NELLI & TEJE

 

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

17 thoughts on “Thoughts for the 2017

  1. I think I need to keep Focus in mind too. It’s easy to get off on many trails, happy and healthful new year. We look forward to reading about your new creations.

    Like

    • Thank you Sonja! Lovely surprise you are ‘on the line’ and I can wish you Happy New Year! London was here today so both puppies come soon! Some hand piecing with Nero during the fireworks. Hugs! x Teje

      Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing your goals and linking up. I think that having a key word like “focus” can really help when thinking about a year’s goals. I wish you much joy and creative fulfillment in 2017, and Happy New Year!

    Like

  3. Love your creativity and will look forward to what you create in 2017 as you focus.

    Like

  4. Thank you for sharing. I like your idea of setting goals. I also, want to learn to sew curves. I’d love to hear more about what techniques you like best! I’m new to your blog, but looking forward to seeing what you make in 2017! Happy new year.

    Like

  5. Happy new year, Teje! I do like your word and I wish you all the best for your makes during the year. Love reading your blog.

    Like

  6. I love your blog! & your dogs! May God bless you abundantly in 2017! 🎉🤓

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  7. Beautiful puppy-dogs.
    The quilts are lovely.
    I wish you a Very Safe and Happy 2017 with oodles of success!

    Like

  8. Tykkään noista sinun omista malleista! Oikein hyvää uutta vuotta 🙂

    Like

  9. Happy New Year. I love to pop over and see what you’re making – always inspirational. Lots of love to Nero, Hanna and Nelli from Belle and Misty the collies, and Flora Puddleduck! Adaliza x

    Like

  10. You are always full of wonderful ideas Teje and I love your colour choices. Let’s hope for a wonderful 2017! Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

  11. Focus will be a great word… had that my first half of this summer…and maybe it have helped me in the way!! I’m sure you will have lots of FUN in the new year… love seeing your happy colourful posts!

    Like

  12. Hyvää ja Luovaa alkanutta vuotta! x Anneli

    Like

  13. Focus is a great word to choose….it is so easy to be distracted by all kinds of exciting ideas! Your colour sense is so inspiring, Teje….I love the colours in this post…so delicious, and your work always has a sense of lightness and fun.
    Wishing you all a very Happy New Year and a creative and inspiring 2017.
    Helen xox

    Like

  14. Thank you, Hanna! I will definitely be following all 4 of you, and I’m really looking forward to all the wonderful things you’ll be making this year. Please ell Teje that I’m totally in love with the sketches she’s made 🙂

    Like

  15. Happy 2017, Teje. Thanks for sharing your ideas and creations. I am already looking forward to read all your new posts. x Barbora

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

