Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Scraptastic Blocks

21 Comments

Hi dear friends! Is it again time for Scraptastic Tuesday, relly? Yes it is, so lets see some scrappynes!

scrappy blocks by teje

Now when the Puppy and Girl quilt top is down from this extra design wall I could put there ‘The Honey Pot Bee’ blocks and few others.

starry sky block

Starry sky block is the latest I made just yesterday evening. It’s one of my very favourites even first I wasn’t sure what fabrics/colours I should pick. I’m very happy with the low volume squares but also with the white. This block is by ‘A Persevering Mom’, like is also the bowl of ice cream. That’s for sure my other very favourite!

ice cream bowl

The bowl with ice cream is the 1. block for the ‘Sweet Treats QAL’ by ‘A Persevering Mom’. There are at least two more blocks already but I didn’t have time to make them yet.

ice cream bowl

One other block that is not part of ‘The Honey Pot Bee’ is my Flying Kite block.

flying kite block by teje

I had made a while ago that small one with english paper piecing using diamonds and squares. It was just trying something and for fun and that’s why I hadn’t plan well how to do the outside pieces. The big one is made with normal piecing using diamonds and triangles. Have to say that it looks easier than it is because the points where hard to match. Now I have drawn also foundation paper piecing patternfor this. I would like to share that but don’t know how to make that printable to share it here.

Flying Kite by Teje

Here you can see the general idea how I made the big Flying Kite block. If you are interested I’m happy to share the measurements. And now I send you warm sunshine!

Flying Kite by Teje

Days are much longer and now I can see the sunset. In winter it sets behind some buildings. Yesterday’s colours were awesome!

sunset

I try to eat more colourful!

smoothie

I try to look more carefully!

for fun

I try to see more creatively!

And now I try to manage with four big puppies! We are again many here and there will be lots of playing, some home schooling and hopefully some sleeping too! This photo is from earlier visit. Lets see if I manage this time to get photo from all four together!

 

puppies

Here is the link to ‘Molli Sparkles’ and  ‘The Honey Pot Bee’. At Molli’s blog you can look the drop down page for ‘The Honey Pot Bee’ and there you find the blocks by month and other info for this bee.

The Honey Pot Bee

Thank you for stopping by and joining my scrappyness!

I’m of course joining the ‘Scraptastic Tuesday’ at Leanne’s ‘She Can Quilt’!

Hugs and kisses!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

21 thoughts on “Scraptastic Blocks

  1. You get more done than 10 of me, and with 4 puppies to home school. 😍 The flying kite block is awesome, so full of energy it looks like it’s ready to just sail off. The elongated triangles in stary sky is my favorite though. How you get everything to fit so percisely –not the slightest pucker anywhere–is beyond me. It looks like you press your seams open. Hugs from the zoo.

    Like

    • Thank you so much Sonja!I used to press all the seams open. With paper piecing that can’t be done of course. Now lately I have pressed also for the one side (it’s quicker and perhaps stronger). But when there are many layers of fabric like when connecting the paper pieced sections, I still press open. And I do press almost every scrap before continue. That’s the quilter’s exercise to get up to press.Hugs from the other zoo! x Teje

      Like

  2. They all look so much fun! Love the flying kite block. Could you load the template onto google doc and add a link to it on yur blog?? I’m sure many people would love the pattern. Thank you for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    Like

    • Thank you Nicky! I don’t have photoshop or something like that so the template is just drawn by hand. Would be nice to learn if there is any free program to do this. Thank you for the party! x Teje

      Like

  3. Lots of scrappy goodness here! And I love that ‘creative’ pic !

    Like

  4. Love all the scrappy blocks that you have made Teje!!! I haven’t got into scrappy projects myself yet, but it is always very inspiring though, and reading through your process makes me appreciate all the time and effort and thinking that you have put into them. Also love your furry friends pic, I know it is very hard to get them all together, but they are so cute!!! ❤ have a great easter holiday!!! x

    Like

  5. You have made such a brilliant work again ! I admire your creativity and your lovely friends! Have a good Easter 🐣! x Anneli

    Like

  6. Love your blocks! So colourful and cheerful!

    Like

  7. Love all your colourful scraptastic blocks here Teje! Your sense of colour always makes me happy! Love the picture of the dogs together…how lovely they look 🙂 Happy Easter to you and your hb and of course your furry companions too.
    Helen xox

    Like

    • Thank you so much Helen! Beautiful, bright colours with lightful white surely makes me happy! The same you use to make the cutest things with a great talent! Happy Easter to you and your family! Our Easter is furry filled! x Teje

      Like

  8. Siellä on taas vilinää ja vilskettä! Kun yksi karvaturri saa jo semmoisen menon ja meiningin aikaan, niin mitä se on neljän kanssa!!! Kaikki blokit on viehättäviä. ja kokonaisuus kaunis ja kesäinen. Jäätelöä tekisi mieli! Hyvää Pääsiäistä!

    Like

  9. Great scrappiness! What a lovely post. Thank you for sharing all that goodness – you’ve made my day, Teje.

    Like

  10. Looking good Teje! Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

    Like

  11. What a fun blocks! Looking good Teje!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

