Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

Granny Squares – How I connect them

4 Comments

Hi dear friends! Finally finding inspiration and idea for the long going on granny squares, I squeezed some time to start to connect them.

granny squares

I started to crochet these few winters ago without any plan. Just loved the colours and enjoyed crocheting.

Alize Cotton Gold

crochet squares

Somehow I always thought that I shall mix all the colours but when I now started to arrange them, it looked nice to have similar colours together. All the red/purple/pink squares in the first photo will be the back piece for the jacket. And for the front pieced I shall use the blue/turquoise/green squares. Sleeves will have white/grey but I’m not sure yet if I shall add there other colours. Maybe I shall by more red and blue and leave the orange and olive green out.

granny squares

Easy way to yarn your needle is to fold it, press it between your fingers so that you can barely see it and then ‘push’ your needle between your fingers. Yarn slips easily in the needle’s eye.

This time I shall simply sew the squares together. I shall use the ends of the yarn to get similar colours for sewing. At the same time the ends will be finished. If you like, you can sew the squares also in lines and rows with one yarn.

sewing granny squares

I arrange the squares so that the ending yarn is on the right upper corner. Like this I can sew two sides. First the side I show here …

With simple stitches picking the outside of the loops there comes stitched line that doesn’t show too much but shows enough to ‘separate’ the squares.

Then I continue with the same yarn to the left side …

If I haven’t left enough long yarn when crochet the granny squares, I just take piece of yarn to continue.

sewing granny squares

granny squares

Finished piece looks now like this. At the moment my idea is that this will be the back of the jacket … but you never know … you know me … new ideas come and go and plans may change.

crochet granny squares

Next I shall arrange the blue/turquoise squares for the front pieces.

Thank you for stopping by! Happy crocheting!

TEJE

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

4 thoughts on “Granny Squares – How I connect them

  1. Wow! What beautiful yarn. Such pretty colours. Love it! x

    Like

  2. Beautiful colours and I like the similar colours together more than all mixed up.

    Like

  3. Looks lovely and you make it look so easy!

    Like

  4. Your connections of the squares is so nice!! mine are not so nice, that is probably why I have left so many granny squares as squares for the last 7 years…maybe it is time then!!! thank you for the inspiration!!!

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

