Nero's post III

"life is meant to be colourful"

{Puppy and Girl} baby quilt

55 Comments

Hi dear friends! I hope you are fine and enjoy the summer! It has been really hot here in Greece and finally yesterday evening arrived wind, can’t say cool but a little bit refreshing. That means back to works and sewing.

Puppy and Girl baby quilt by Teje

This quilt was improvised, free style project and lots of fun! Taking photos under the really strong summer light was difficult and I’m still not happy with the pictures but as this quilt has been finished for a while, it’s high time to show it. You know, new projects are on the way all the time!

Puppy and Girl baby quilt by Teje

My plan for this quilt was to make a quilt without any requests, not to think what there should be, what not, what colours some one likes or doesn’t like and not to worry if it works out or not. Just to create picture quilt with improvised piecing.

Puppy and Girl quilt by Teje

I thought if I managed to make these little dogs and other creatures in the beginning of my quilting career, I should now be able to make one nice big puppy.

Puppy and Girl by Teje

Beginning of the girl was a scrap, left over from drunkard’s path and it looked excatly little girl’s hair!

quilting

This time I used Warm & Natural wadding. Basted and pinned on the floor under Nelli’s control.

basting

Nelli

Puppy has collar from same ‘leather’ as the shoes of the girl. Leash and the balloon’s ribbon are raw edge bias stripe, the same like I used for the flowers in my ‘Florist’ quilt.

hand quilting

Hand quilting with Perle Cotton no 8. Even I try sometimes other threads for quilting, I return to these because they are just so beautiful!

quilting

One of the happy moments is always when I can trim the edges and start the binding. I was thinking and thinking what can I use for the binding. Then I saw piece of this stripy fabric in my binding box and knew This is It! It looks quite busy but I allow this quilt to be busy, happy, fun, like a neigborhood with laughing kids, puppies, balloons, flower gardens and little cosy homes!

binding

binding a quilt

baby quilt

baby quilt

You can read more about this project and how I free pieced the girl and puppy HERE.

baby quilt by Teje

QUILT DETAILS:

Name: Puppy and Girl

Size: 42.5″x 38″ (108 cm x 96 cm)

Machine pieced and hand quilted

Designed and made by me Teje Karjalainen

Puppy and Girl baby quilt by Teje

Thank you very much for visiting my blog and for your lovely comments!

TEJE

I’m joining the linky parties:

Linky Tuesday, Let’s be Social, Needle and Thread ThursdayOh Scrap

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Neros Post in Instagram

“Nero’s Post”  my craft etsy shop

“Maherida Holiday Apartments”

 

Author: Teje

I am a Finnish woman living in Crete in Greece. Quilting, sewing, knitting, crochet and if there is still time, reading and painting, with happy company of our two sweet dogs and one cat!

55 thoughts on “{Puppy and Girl} baby quilt

  1. This is really cute! So much detail. Good job. Sometimes we need to just make a quilt without requests. Helps keep us motivated!

    Like

  2. Yes, it is like a busy street scene and so pretty. I too haven’t wanted to sew in the heat but now the breeze is refreshing and I’ll pick up my needle again and be inspired by your quilt. Xx

    Like

    • Thank you Nora! I have been hiding inside and not even upstairs in my sewing room. Now with the wind there are lots of things waiting for. Now I’m happy to continue the butterflies which are very enjoyable to make. Have a lovely day! x Teje

      Like

  3. The quilt says “happy” from edge to edge! Binding is perfect!

    Like

  4. This cute quilt is going to spark some little person’s imagination for sure. I love the border. Who knew the Drunkard’s Path could be used as a hair design? Don’t you just love spending a serendipity day with your scraps? btw, thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a much appreciated comment. So sweet.

    Like

  5. Ooooooo…..I spy the little Moomin in the window of that darling home!! The binding is perfect and I’m totally in luv with your quilt stitches…….adds to the playfulness of the whole piece. Well done, dear Friend! It’s been cool /average temps here and the raindrops have come in buckets periodically. Everything is quite green but a little behind the “normal” cuz of the super wet & cool Springtime. Celebrating our country’s birthday today by quietly stitching. Hope your day is equally nice! Hugs………

    Like

    • Thank you Doreen and Happy Anniversary! This was a fun but also project to exercise free piecing. Now I continue with butterflies and perhaps some summer blouses. Have a lovely day dear friend! x Teje

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you! Funny that you should say “blouses” cuz that’s exactly what I’m about to start……some very simple (cotton knit) sleeveless summer (bateau neck) tops that are long overdue to be added to my closet!! Now that we spend some of our winter in warmer Texas, I seem to need many more of those items.
        Your “free form” piecing is always an amazement to me! I’ve not done that and am a tad intimidated by it….LOL! Enjoy your day…….sending those hugs…always with love…………………..

        Liked by 1 person

  6. So beautiful and inspiring Yeje, thank you for sharing!
    Myrto

    Like

  7. A D OR A B L E….and what fun you had making it!

    Like

  8. love that it all came from a scrap of something that ended up this fabulous quilt. I absolutely love the puppy!

    Like

  9. This is the cutest quilt. Great job.

    Like

  10. Oh, I just love this quilt! What fun it is and made even better with your beautiful hand quilting. You have the best and most creative ideas plus they turn out so great. One of these days I’m going to put patterns aside and dive into free style with you as my muse. Hugs to you and the anipals.

    Like

    • Thank you so much dear Sonja! Just pick some scraps and start! Most difficult is to begin but when you have the inspiring materials front of you it’s hard to stop! Hugs to you and puppies! x Teje

      Like

  11. Ganz entzückend, sehr, sehr schön!
    Liebe Grüße
    Steffi

    Like

  12. It’s absolutely beautiful! Love how all fabric patterns work together and how you created a nice joyful picture with simple shapes.

    Like

  13. You have the most amazing imagination! Love the little girl and her proud puppy. And you beautiful quilting adds the perfect finish along with that colourful binding. Such a happy quilt!

    Like

    • Thank you so much Lorna! This was fun challenge! I wish I could have huge stash to have lots of colours and shades to ‘paint’ patchwork pictures. Have a great day! x Teje

      Like

  14. Teje: This quilt is fantastic! Love the colors, the inspiration and your hand quilting . Perfect!

    Like

  15. Tämä on niin hyväntuulinen peitto, että varmasti suunpielet nousevat ylös. Peitosta tulee varmasti tärkeä sille, kuka sen saakin. Huomaa, että olet varsin taiteellinen ja taitava värien käyttäjä. Nelli on hyvä apu vanua valitessa! Terveiset Sulolta!

    Like

    • Kiitos kovasti Marle ja Sulo! Varit ovat ihania ja tarkeita minulle! Toivon vaan etta valikoimissa olis kaikkia mahdollisia savyja ja erikokoisia kuvioita, usein joudun pahkailmaan ikuisuuksia etta saan sovitettua jotenkin mieleisesti. Nelli tykkaa olla eniten makkarissa ja on iloinen kun teen jotain siella ja olen seurana (siella on hyva lattia tila). Iltaisin Nelli usein naukuu etta tulisit jo etta voin olla kainalossa! x Teje

      Like

  16. This quilt is a happy and fun quilt! It’s so cute.

    Like

  17. This quilt is so delightful! Far too often I think create to please others rather than to just enjoy the process. It is adorable. Thanks for sharing with Oh Scrap!

    Like

    • Thank you Cynthia! It is so nice to make quilt for a special person but there is usually anxioty and small worries if they will like it or expect something else. Have a lovely day! x Teje

      Like

  18. Tämä on aivan ihana! Paljon kaikkea kivaa ja kauniilla väreillä!

    Like

  19. What a precious quilt Teje, thanks so much for sharing!

    Like

  20. Darling!

    Like

  21. This is the first time on your site. I love it! Everything about your quilt touches my heart. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  22. It is just adorable and is sure to bring smiles to all who see it!

    Like

  23. Such a sweet quilt.

    Like

  24. Kauniita tilkkutöitä! On noissa kyllä varmasti väkertämistä…

    Like

    • Kiitos Anniina kun pistaydyit blogissani! Kylla naissa on tekemista ja siina se mielenkiinto varmaan piileekin. Itse kun teen niin etta suunnittelen tehdessa, on aina milenkiintoista nahda kuink projekti lopulta valmistuu. Hyvaa kesaa koti Suomeen! x Teje

      Like

  25. What a wonderful quilt, so much to look at, so many thoughtful details, and so you. You have a style all of your own, ever thought of marketing your patterns?

    Like

  26. Such a sweet quilt Teje! I love it! x

    Like

  27. What an adorable quilt!! I love it. The fabrics and the color. You always make such pretty and original things.

    Like

If you have a moment, leave a comment! I love to hear from you and keep in touch!

